21
Aug
07

Bend

career-girl.gif

CityMama wrote a thoughtful piece the other week about the trouble some of us mamas face: working too hard, and not having enough fun, wanting to recapture some of the joy of youthful carefree days.

At my best, I can find verve and joy and life in pink shoes, laughing with girlfriends, being silly, and acting like the world is my personal oyster full of pearls.

Other times, I bend and reach and find only that I’ve come up short. Terribly short. I’ve been selfish, preoccupied, and completely less than all of the things I so long to be.

I have good vision, but poor execution. And I wonder if I bend more, reach farther, will I reach that point of joy and fulfillment beyond motherhood and work — those two lovely pillars that keep me standing?

*******
I’m having much more fun over at Imperfect Parent contemplating fantasy vacations…. 

3 Responses to “Bend”


  1. August 21, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    I understand about the “good vision, but poor execution.” I often wonder how there is enough time in a day to meet everyone else’s needs (my children, my husband, friends, family…) AND my own needs. That balance is always just out of my reach.

  2. August 21, 2007 at 11:59 pm

    Did you read The Feminine Mistake? (Just curious.)

    The balance is ever-elusive and there’s no perfect recipe. Most times I feel like a self-centered lush, but the alternative is far worse.

  3. August 23, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    Let me know if you find the recapturing your youth answer.


Leave a Reply

