11
Aug
07

Family Math.

I’ve downshifted again. This time fundraising and writing (mostly from home) as my dots make ready for Kindergarten and preschool, respectively. Having given up working in offices (for the time-being) in favor of chumminess I’m often doing the math in my head during the day.

Mom home + kids = happier?

Intellectually stimulated enough + kids happy enough = me happier?

Ultimately it comes down to

Me + them + every day = Easier than me working in an office.

Ultimately, when my daughters treat me like wallpaper, regular gasoline on the highway pit-stop, then. Then I know I’ve arrived at that right combination of Mommy + self + their happiness. We’ve become an imperfect loud smelly soup of “us.”

We’ve become a family.

4 Responses to “Family Math.”


  1. August 11, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    Stir occasionally and you won’t simmer too much.

  2. August 12, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    More, more, more … are you happier? Are there times you regret? Are they just every once in a while? I like that you’re happier in general these days.

    It’s cool to ride along with moms (and kids?) making the calculations and coming to conclusions about how to live this life.

  3. August 13, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    Bossy’s high school friend was always inventing mathematical equations for her life, but she was a singer so they wer always along the lines of

    Hope+Effort=Record Contract-purple legwarmers.

    Stuff like that.

  4. August 14, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Not necessarily better in certain respects, but that family math worked out the same way for me. I’m hoping my sanity and career will come out OK on the other end.

    And BIG thanks again for guest blogging over at my place last week — no shag-fest, tho’ — PunditGirl was along for the whole trip!


Leave a Reply

