05
Aug
07

Adventures of Break-O-Man

In my family, there is one beloved relative who is known fondly as “Break O Man.” Break O Man has a heart of gold, but can be generously described as having a very difficult relationship with the physical universe. Things simply do not function in her grasp. Doors won’t open, cars won’t start, things fall apart.

I am known around my house as “Break O Man, Jr.” for the way in which I too cannot seem to track simple things like keys, cars, houses, directions. If it’s without a pulse, I’m in a relatively solid state of confusion over its workings.

B o M and our kind require “keepers.” Patient kind people who help us find things like grocery stores and gas stations and doctor’s offices. We credit the name B o M to this lovely New Yorker cartoon, without which we would have had to continue using the less loving name “the Breaker”

I dedicate this post to all of you Break O Mans out there (you know who you are)…

break-o-man.jpg

8 Responses to “Adventures of Break-O-Man”


  1. August 5, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Oh that is too funny

  2. August 5, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    Yeah…that’s me.

    Hubs just told me how to resize pics for writing samples on my professional web site and I stared at him like he was speaking Greek. There has to be a trick to resizing and uploading and presenting, I think.

  3. August 6, 2007 at 1:29 am

    Um, yeah that’s me too.

  4. August 6, 2007 at 4:09 am

    Um, me three. Especially if it requires a printer.

  5. August 6, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    I definitely have those days.

    PS–In Google Reader where the name of the blog typically is shown your feeds say ‘(title unknown).” Don’t know if anyone had mentioned it.

  6. August 6, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    I think I’m a Type E BoM, as in Electrical. You may think you have a great digital sound system in your car, but if I try to switch channels–or even change the volume–it will fall silent and display only cryptic parts of various numbers.
    Thanks for finally giving me a nickname. It is so much nicer than the names folks call me when I’ve just fritzed their radio.

  7. August 6, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    My name is Kami and I break things, can’t find things, can’t operate machinery and my family has to give me special directions when driving anywhere (they say “make a Kami” or “make a whoever is in the passenger seat”). I am a Break-o-man.

  8. August 8, 2007 at 7:54 am

    I don’t break things. i just can’t fix shit.


Leave a Reply

