30
Jul
07

this time we didn’t even talk about oral sex

Well, not that I remember.

Homeward now and further reflections on the power of BlogHer. Not the sessions, or the classes, but the force and passion of women in a room together chatting about the world.

But it wasn’t without it’s moments — this gathering. The conversation/debate about whether the “momosphere” is cliquey — the hurt feelings the somewhat heated discussions — did raise some crucial issues. There is clearly a hierarchy to the mommy blogosphere — a slumber-party funniness replete with talent and longevity (most of these sweeties have been blogging for around 2 years — which is like 15 in blog years) that is totally deserved, but honestly can be somewhat intimidating.

But to get caught up in that is missing the whole point. Truthfully, I like to believe there is enough room for plenty more writers ….an endless supply of room, and air, and so many important stories we all, YOU, need to share.

Attending BlogHer made me so grateful, to the women writers I read, who help me every day, grapple with the loud small people, laugh at the total oddness of the human condition. This laughter and storytelling is creating paradigmatic shift in politics, activism, self-expression… of this I’m convinced.

Even poor conference attendees like me (giggling away in the back with these two) could feel the simmering revolution.

What revolution?

Something like this.

Oh. And, I’m starting a Lisa Stone Fanclub (she’s one of the founders of BlogHer and is gorgeous and smart and I want to be her in my next life, rather than the beetle they have me scheduled to become, those karma rats).

15 Responses to “this time we didn’t even talk about oral sex”


  1. July 30, 2007 at 2:40 am

    You were so awesome and just how I expected. BUT BETTER. Hey, now you have another reason to come chill in the ATL.

    And there is plenty of room for all our voices. Like music, it would get old if we all listened to the same crap all the time.

    xox

  2. July 30, 2007 at 3:48 am

    it sounds like you all had an amazing time

  3. 3 Karrie
    July 30, 2007 at 4:06 am

    iPhone on train so excuse typos

    Your point about many voices is well put,R.
    Attending confirmed my sense of being a weird mother,but I’m cool with that.
    Personally the mommyblogger label does not fit–I think I’m a junkdrawer blogger who sometimes writes ant parenting.:)

    As an observer,I will say the MB crowd did seem to really enjoy one another’s company,and I feel as though I understand why so many strongly defend the label and the rest of the group

    Hopefully I’m making sense lol

  4. July 30, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    I loved getting to meet you although NOT nearly for enough time. Funny how that happens in a room with 799 other people. And now that you’ve met me…if you find me intimidating, well I’ll eat my nametag.

  5. July 30, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    WHAT!? You don’t remember that workshop you gave in your hotel room?

    I will be the first to sign up for your Lisa fan club. I drooled over how together and articulate and gorgeous and informed she is. Sigh. But as far as I know, she is nowhere near the cusser and session-disturber that you are. And that alone deserves fan club status.

  6. July 30, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Where did you go? I missed you after seeing you at the start of the conference! It was so great to spend some time with you, though, and hope we can again soon.
    You do make some good points about the event, and I am all over joining the Lisa Stone fan club.

  7. July 30, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    If you don’t remember whether you talked about oral sex, I’d be willing to bet good money that you most certainly did.

    And you probably even got kicked out someplace for shrieking with laughter at the hilarity of it all.

    😉

  8. July 31, 2007 at 4:09 am

    I hope you talked about oral sex. What’s a girl’s weekend without sex talk?

    Loved, loved meeting you!

  9. July 31, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    Fantastic to have met you! Well, at least the presence of your business card indicates we did indeed cross paths though my memory fails me. And I wasn’t even drinking. 🙂

    Great site, though and I’m glad to have stumbled upon it!

  10. August 1, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    I just saw this and didn’t even realize you were there! You are one of the bloghers I was hoping to meet… well, maybe next time.

  11. August 2, 2007 at 1:51 am

    How the Hell did we not find each other????

    My biggest disappointment. Not being able to grab your boob.

    Dammit.

    We will meet. I am determined.

  12. August 2, 2007 at 4:25 am

    i SO didn’t get to spend enough time around you this weekend.

  13. August 3, 2007 at 12:31 am

    What those last two dames said. For real.

  14. August 11, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    I really thought I would spend more time with you… where WERE you anyway? Kristen is right – one more reason for you to get back to the ATL.
    xo,
    J


Leave a Reply

