18
Jul
07

Wind Sprint

After several days of loving up on my girls, we descended straight into Hell. Isn’t that the crux of the challenge of parenting? Just when you think you’ve reached some new state of loving adoration and peace, they learn an evil new trick.

For the past three nights running, all three girls have gotten up 8,000 times after bed for reasons ranging from “I need ice in my water cup” to “I love you bigger than the world” (which, if not told to you at 11pm is a very adorable thing to hear).

I’m a member of the Church of the Early Bedtime. I’m a worshiper of the Goddess of Sleep Ritual and an acolyte in the Parents Free Time is Essential to Mental Health spiritual practice. Kids getting good sleep is my thing. My main trick (aside from acting goofy so they laugh off a tantrum).

The past few nights we all devolved into an exhausted cranky, crying, yelling family from Hell. And I was Queen.

So tonight? Wind sprints and milk with a dash of Benadryl. I kept the girls up one hour later then usual and made them run between the two fences while I counted loudly and cheered.

And peace is restored. For now.

Me? Trouble?kids0002.jpgme? trouble?

Us? Trouble?

13 Responses to “Wind Sprint”


  1. July 18, 2007 at 6:07 am

    Ah yes, the wind sprints. Our thing is to have the boy run around the “track” he made in the yard and try to beat his time, which is a terrible time and he always runs about the same, but what does he know? 10 laps and it’s all good.

  2. 2 Jill
    July 18, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    We’re fellow parishioners. Mr. F, who is not even 6 months old, goes to the kiddie pool at the neighborhood park every day @ 5:00 p.m. We slosh him around, he stares at the dozens of kids running around and screaming while chasing each other and stealing each other’s toys, he cracks up and laughs and squeals until he is completely exhausted. We stroll him home, slop some baby oatmeal in his mouth, whisk him to the bath, and he’s conked out by 6:15–up for a quick feed at some unforeseen time–and then back down til 6.

  3. 3 Jen
    July 18, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    Ahh yes – in our house Benedryl is treated like the exilir of the GODS…

  4. July 18, 2007 at 6:19 pm

    I like the way you think.

    Just drug the little buggers.

  5. July 18, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    such beautiful trouble, though

  6. July 18, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    I work with a man who didn’t get why I was always taking my little one out before naps and before bedtime for walks and wind sprints and bike rides and anything that would expel her boundless reserves of energy.

    And then he had a kid, his first.

    And now he gets it.

  7. July 18, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    Hence Hubs’ newfound love for the pool. In the past, I had to drag him there. Now that he’s seen the benefits — two utterly spent children — he’s the one hauling out the sunscreen.

  8. July 19, 2007 at 12:26 am

    Here’s a tip: swimming. Get them swimming two/three hours a day and they will be out like lights at seven pm. Works for me!!

  9. July 19, 2007 at 1:42 am

    Your so real. I love the benadryl trick. I used that one on my own kids. The trick is to wear their little butts out by letting them play so hard they have to be carried to bed, from falling to sleep on the floor. Just hope they don’t sleep-walk.

  10. July 19, 2007 at 6:06 am

    Ah, so that’s why I haven’t seen you at church lately. And just a dash of Benedryl? I think I would play it safe and make it a large dash.

  11. July 19, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    Rather than have them simply burn energy could you not rig up a giant hamster wheel and a dynamo and light the street?

  12. July 19, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    We go to the same church! Have you tried sprinkling baby powder on their bottoms and telling them it’s sleepy powder?

    Make a BFD out of it– you can’t sprinkle it in your room, for example, or they might fall asleep ON THE WAY TO THEIR BEDS- MY GOD, IT’S THAT POWERFUL!!!

  13. July 20, 2007 at 1:41 am

    I’m sleepy just reading this.


Leave a Reply

