15
Jul
07

and then i saw her lean on his shoulder

I walked into a party last night and after observing the mean age (70++), I immediately went downstairs and added more clothing (put away a portion of my decolletage).  After all, this was a church function/fundraiser.

Talky, sensing an “I Can Be a Star Tonight!!” situation, immediately pressed her advantage and bent ears tall and short about any old little thing (Did you know that announcing your age is a perfectly great opening line?). And even Tempest (usually pretty shy) sat quietly next to an older gentleman and inquired about his dinner.

It’s a wonderful thing to observe your own children, especially when they’re not having a tantrum at a park or barking orders to adults nearby (“I said SWING ME!!”). But prettily sitting on a low patio wall with the sun setting in the background in little skirts and talking and being civilized? It was a site!

At the end of the debut, I walked out to the patio and beheld Talky leaning peacefully on the shoulder of a grandfatherly sort. They were both perfectly content.

And I stood there and watched them. The lovely pair of new friends.

**

And did I mention??

im-going-to-blogher.gif

6 Responses to “and then i saw her lean on his shoulder”


  1. July 15, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Little girls becoming ladies. *sigh*
    Let’s be totally unladylike at blogher.

  2. July 15, 2007 at 8:24 pm

    What a lovely sight

  3. July 15, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    Put away decolletage? Church fundraiser? Really?

    Redsy, this is indeed a new you.

  4. July 17, 2007 at 8:06 am

    It is amazing what they’re capable of! Now, to just get them to do that more often, huh? It would be a miracle in my house, for sure!

  5. July 18, 2007 at 3:32 am

    Aww…don’t you love those moments?

    I would have to engage in bribery and blackmail to see that kind of behavior from my two at a … sedate? … function. And even then, they would no doubt humiliate me.

  6. July 19, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    I LOVE that church!


Leave a Reply

