12
Jul
07

All of a Sudden it Was Hard to Leave

I’ve written before about the joys of work, the importance of being smart, sassy, full of joy and life beyond the boundaries of motherhood. And that is all still so true. But something has shifted and changed lately. Something like this is happening to me.

Is it Summer? The fun we’re having at our new trailer playing in the pool and riding bikes and making ready for Kindergarten?

I look at all of my daughters and love them of course, but recently I’m overcome with my like for them. Bubbles with her laugh and potato body and smooth silky hair, Talky with her personality and her demands and her language skills, Tempest with her soulful eyes and sweet joyful laugh.

And Kindergarten. Is. Coming. We’re getting shots, buying uniforms, making ready for school. School!! As a confirmed school junkie (the rules, the assignments, the grades, the teachers), the thought that my bright little girls get to enter the golden kingdom of education fills me with joy joy joy!

And somehow that makes us closer. So close I can smell them on my clothes and see them in my mind’s eye…. compare whatever I’m doing while away.. measuring it up against time with them.. their worth.. And everything. Everything is coming up short by comparison.

3girlscute_2006-july.jpg

15 Responses to “All of a Sudden it Was Hard to Leave”


  1. July 12, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    They are getting so big! Kindergarten is exciting, especially if it’s full-day! 🙂

  2. July 12, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    Kindergarten….yikes! Was on that road last year. What a big change. I know how you feel!

  3. July 12, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    I see little flashes of their Mama in their sweet little faces…

  4. 4 jen
    July 13, 2007 at 2:36 am

    dude. i like it over here. glad Jess showed me what was what.

    and i know what you mean – i have had incredible waves lately of the same thing…of the utter likedness of it all.

  5. July 13, 2007 at 5:14 am

    they are so beautiful. Must be hard to wrestle yourself away

  6. July 13, 2007 at 11:15 am

    Oh yes, they will absolutely love Kindergarten. Looks like you are in a good state of mind these days.

  7. 7 karrie
    July 13, 2007 at 11:50 am

    So sweet!

    I needed to read this. So far this week I really only like m M when he is sleeping. (Horried behavior over here.)

  8. 8 karrie
    July 13, 2007 at 11:51 am

    (So horrid in fact, that I have lost the ability to spell…)

  9. July 13, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    Hello Rachael,

    They are beautiful like their mom…

  10. July 13, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Awe shucks. I think I just teared up a bit. Diggin’ the new space…welcome to WP.

  11. July 13, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    That was really touching – I’m feeling the same way about the boys. And wow, does time ever go fast! I’m trying hard to enjoy every moment right now.

  12. July 13, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    Well, you know that I feel exactly the same way. It’s too true – you fall in LIKE with them. You crush on them, a bit. You want to hang out with them because they’re just too awesome.

    (But, then, they turn on you and reject you. That’s how we’re rolling ’round our place today.)

  13. 13 Neworleans84
    July 14, 2007 at 12:28 am

    Not for a second would have I have thought you were nearly 39 by looking at your picture. You look at least 8 years younger. I enjoy your blog and wish you luck on your new one.

  14. July 14, 2007 at 3:11 am

    They’re all so beautiful, as is their Redsy Mama!


Leave a Reply

