23
Jun
07

Confessions of An Eco-Hating Camper. Looking for Home, Part 2.

trailer.jpg

I have serious cottage-love. If the space is small and cramped and cozy (and incidentally easy to clean) I’m in! So we’ve come to some decisions around the homestead and finally finally husband has agreed we can start looking for a home that better reflects our desired lifestyle (more walking, less driving, less cleaning, more living), which translates into finding a smaller (much smaller) home in the central part of Bellingham. Closer to parks, stores, and all things pedestrian friendly.

Our house will enter the market the first part of July and we’ll officially throw our hat into the ring of slow-moving real estate and dashed hopes. If we don’t sell, we’ll try again next year. Meanwhile, we’ve found a lovely intermediary step.

We bought a trailer. It’s luxurious, but compact, bunkbeds for kids with doors that close, bathrooms (yes more than one) and an outdoor shower and all kinds of other bells and whistles. The trailer is parked at this family-friendly little resort where they have bike paths, a swimming pool, and community center. Oh. And wireless Internet. Did I mention that we call this “camping”?

If we sell our house before we find another (which is highly likely) we have a place to land so we’re not rushed into any decisions.

I’m somewhat embarrassed by my love of this trailer. It’s silly and lovely and so easy to manage. I sigh when I walk in the door. It’s the closest thing to home I’ve felt in a long long time.

Just don’t tell the real campers my secret.

12 Responses to “Confessions of An Eco-Hating Camper. Looking for Home, Part 2.”


  1. June 23, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    It sounds divine, truly.

  2. June 23, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    I would so rather camp your way.

  3. June 24, 2007 at 9:51 am

    Does your trailer have guest rooms?

    Just trying to plan ahead and all that…

    I like what I’m hearing in this post, btw. It sounds like you’re doing what you need to do to honor that gypsy spirit of yours.

    Kisses,
    P

  4. June 24, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Godd for you for stepping off the “my next house must be bigger” treadmill. I’m now off to collect my Hypocrisy Pulitzer.

  5. June 25, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    I’ve almost made a commitment to go backpacking, which I’m pretty sure involves a complete lack of internet and hair dryers. I’m sure Id be more comfortable doing it your way, which by the way involves a fair amount of jettisoning the incredible amount of STUFF most of us (myself included) seems to feel is necessary to cart around. Kudos.

  6. June 26, 2007 at 9:45 am

    I’m having camper envy! Seriously, I love the idea of scaling back and having less space to clean and fewer things to worry about. I salute you for making it happen.

  7. 7 karrie
    June 28, 2007 at 7:05 am

    Ooooooo!!

    I’m jealous, actually. I love tenting, but right now I am drooling over the T@B teardrop. Have you seen those yet?

    And really, I’m learning that with little ones, a few amenities on the road do make things massively easier.

  8. 8 karrie
    June 28, 2007 at 7:11 am

    I also like

    these.

  9. June 28, 2007 at 10:23 am

    You’re setting a wonderful example. I love it and might just have to copy!!!

  10. June 28, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Bossy hears you on the small thing. Bossy’s prerequisite when finding any home is, “Can I plug the Hoover in one outlet and reach the whole house?”

  11. June 28, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    I have a camper that I love. It has everything I require when camping, flush toilet, shower, air conditioning, microwave and tv. I wish I could simplify and get rid of so much but my superhubby thinks he will die if he doesn’t keep everything he ever owned.

  12. June 29, 2007 at 11:56 am

    I think if you cook outside it’s still considered “Camping”


Leave a Reply

