23
May
07

Mothers Fess Up About TV Babysitter

kids-n-tv.gif
Mothers. Those layabout ne’er-do-wells. Always with the complaining about being “tired” and not feeling “in the mood.” Come on!! Women (especially strong righteous pioneer women) used to make their own butter, for chrissakes! And we’re not even talking about the women who used to work in kitchens of harvest golds and yellows.

Seriously. What is UP with modern mamas? If you read the likes of Silicon Valley Moms Blog, where they have the nerve to discuss the freewheeling unapologetic use of “screen” time to do things like cook dinner, shower, and read books, you’d think raising children was indentured servitude.

And you’d be RIGHT! Right? Raising kids is a tough business in a day and age when “go outside and play” might as well be “go find the freak neighbor who likes to touch little people!”

I think the mamas in the Silicon Valley have it right. Sometimes, screen time is a perfectly acceptable babysitter. Cause even mommies have to go potty once in awhile.

***
Cross posted from StrollerDerby

10 Responses to “Mothers Fess Up About TV Babysitter”


  1. May 23, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    Potty? I know not of this potty of which you speak. Heh.

  2. 3 featherenmama
    May 24, 2007 at 9:04 am

    At what point does the “watching mommy on the potty” stop being a lesson and start being kind of weird?

    In a similiar vein, I’m sick of all the child experts who denounce Elmo, Sesame Street and Baby Einstein b/c they’re apparently ruining our kids’ attention spans. Puhlease! PBSKids is my saviour!

  3. May 24, 2007 at 9:09 am

    AMEN!!!

    What a wonderful reply!

  4. May 24, 2007 at 11:26 am

    My television has been my parenting partner. Which is perhaps why I am not winning any mommy of the year awards…

  5. May 24, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Let me tell you, if those pioneer women had tv in their day, they’d be using it to their full advantage!

  6. May 24, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    I couldn’t agree more! It’s because of the tv that my son can point to North America on a map, tell me about the Great Wall of China and the Statue of Liberty!

  7. May 25, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Like everything, tv is fine in moderation. Obviously I wouldn’t plop my son in front of it for the entire day, but no tv. That’s cruel!

  8. May 25, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    I grew up in front of the television. I.T.O.F. (I turned out fine)

  9. May 26, 2007 at 8:37 am

    When Bossy’s kids were little they were attached to a Sesame Street I.V. drip.


Leave a Reply

