15
May
07

And Now with More Imperfections

rugrat-reprieve.jpg

Signs that it might be time to have a Mommy Break include but are not limited to:

Laughing inappropriately when your kids get hurt, hoping your husband trips on the wet towel he left on the floor, burgeoning rage when you see that someone moved your special spoon, sensation that there are a million swarming bees inside your brain all demanding more peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Addressing “Mommy Stress” is most effective if you first diagnose which phase you are in.

Read More
….

***
Today I join the esteemed company of Julie, Kristen, and other fabulosas with my first Imperfect Parent Column, Rugrat Reprieve.

13 Responses to “And Now with More Imperfections”


  1. May 15, 2007 at 6:40 am

    I emailed this to my husband as a hint. I loved the descriptions of the phases…I’ve been headed for Phase 3 for a while!

  2. May 15, 2007 at 6:58 am

    Congrats. Are those flowers real or fondant? I can’t tell, but I’d like to think they’re fondant, the better for Pedro, the young Latin love god, to suck them off of your face…

  3. May 15, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Welcome aboard! We’re happy to have you.

  4. May 15, 2007 at 7:57 am

    You lucky duck! Congrats on another great column gig!

  5. May 15, 2007 at 10:07 am

    On those kind of days even a trip to the Proctologist is a reprieve from motherhood.

  6. May 15, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    I think I love you, seriously though.

  7. 7 jen
    May 15, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Um…will be dropping off my kids with you in 5 minutes! You can make it from Tacoma to Bellingham in 5 minutes when you have reached complete mommy meltdown…right? 😉

  8. May 15, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    Most awesome. Nice job!

  9. May 15, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    This is one of the funniest pieces of mother meltdown I have read in a long time! Thanks for making me laugh. However, after reading your piece I realize that I need a break every single day!!!!

  10. May 15, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    I used to blog for Imperfect Parent. I’m glad you’ve got the gig and the column is dead-on target. Um…could you send a copy to my kids?

  11. May 16, 2007 at 6:55 am

    Congrats Rachael — looks great!

  12. May 16, 2007 at 9:31 am

    I think I live in Phase Three most of the time. A leas now I can recognize the warning signs!

    Congrats on the gig; looking forward to more!

  13. May 16, 2007 at 1:42 pm

    Oh so brilliant! Now, where is my finery hiding again?


Leave a Reply

