10
May
07

Dancing with Violet

edelweiss.jpg

Every night at bedtime, I sing to Violet and rock her gently back and forth while singing that beautiful song from a Sound of Music, Edelweiss.

Edelweiss, edelweiss
Ev’ry morning you greet me
Small and white, clean and bright
You look happy to meet me
Blossom of Snow
May you bloom and grow
Bloom and grow forever
Edelweiss, edelweiss
Bless my homeland forever
Edelweiss, edelweiss

Small and White
Clean and bright
You look happy to meet me
Blossom of snow
May you bloom and grow
Bloom and grow forever
Edelweiss, edelweiss
Bless my homeland forever

That song is a blessing of welcome and protection, casting a magical spell that floats above the heads of my sleeping children. Last night, as I smelled her hair of spun gold and sang to her, I pressed my cheek to her soft downy face, and she began to sing along with me.

I will remember that forever.

11 Responses to “Dancing with Violet”


  1. 1 InDudeMood
    May 11, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Jesus! I almost started crying right here at work. That would ruin my tough guy image so I choked back the rather un-manly tears. πŸ™‚

    Those little daughters can really tug on our heart, huh?

  2. May 11, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Well said, my friend, well said. And great song choice — a favorite here, too.

  3. May 11, 2007 at 10:28 am

    I live for moments like those!

  4. 5 Jill
    May 11, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    Love that.

  5. May 11, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Moments like these are what make motherhood the best job in the world!

  6. May 11, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Thomas loves that one too…thanks for the words though…I was kinda making them up. Oops.

  7. May 11, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    This is beyond gorgeous and I just love that you sing of flowers to your little Violet.

  8. May 11, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    I love that song.. it makes me weepy everytime I sing it…

  9. May 12, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    Sweet little baby, Vi.


Leave a Reply

