30
Apr
07

Working Girls Can (Occasionally) Win

rosie-bitches.jpg

Every mama needs sweet good meaningful work and a deep belief in her intelligence and worth as a non-mama person.

Like most mothers, work has constantly been redefined during the 5 years I’ve been a parent. At first, I maintained the need to continue my career climb, managing multi-million dollar budgets, supervising staff. When I moved into managing a nonprofit and then got pregnant with my last pudding pie, I was convinced I could do it all. I didn’t figure in the strain of long hours, last baby time slipping away, or the huge stress of managing work politics on myself and family.

I’ve since come to appreciate the down-time, free-time, that can occasionally be associated with a less structured work life. And even though I’m often a short-order cook, kicking bag, toddler tantrum recipient, when it’s sunny and they can run around outside, life is good.

So last month, when the Babble rulers asked Stefania (CityMama) and I to take over editing and generating stories for StrollerDerby, I happily agreed. Being able to write has made staying home easier (bearable?) for me. I never would have predicted this time last year (as I “resigned” from my fancy executive director job), that I’d be so happy virtually employed.

I still go to the wonderful nonprofit a few days a week to do spreadsheets and visit with the people and wear cute clothes, I’m spending more and more time at home.

And most days, I look around and think “huh” “this is pretty nice.”

9 Responses to “Working Girls Can (Occasionally) Win”


  1. April 30, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    I think it is completely cool that you have so many skills that you can do from home!

    It doesn’t surprise me, though. You are one freaking talented and amazing woman.

  2. May 1, 2007 at 9:22 am

    COngrats! That is SO exciting! And I love that you call your daughter pudding pie … that’s one we use for PunditGirl, too!

  3. May 1, 2007 at 10:45 am

    Good job CM! Sounds like the perfect balance!

  4. May 1, 2007 at 11:34 am

    Awesome for you. I’m struggling with the same issues — losing toddler time — everyone needs me to manage the house — my need to work. It’s such a tough issue. So happy to see you finding a way to make this possible.

  5. May 1, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Wow, that’s cool! Good for you. I remember when you first posted on my site about your fancy fancy job that I didn’t even know what you did. You make us working stiffs jealous. Congrats!

  6. May 3, 2007 at 1:57 am

    Would you be embarrassed if I cried with jealousy?

  7. May 3, 2007 at 11:21 am

    My dh loves it.
    He can’t even imagine NOT working from home and not writing in between tickle sessions and whatnot.

    I too am loving it….even though all I do is for free and fun!

  8. May 5, 2007 at 6:30 am

    Congratulations to you! I’m currently in the process of setting up a business from home, and imagine it’s so much more satisfying being close to your family!


Leave a Reply

