24
Apr
07

The Bitch is Back and She’s My Girl

saucy-friends.jpg

The bitch. She’s my girl. My people.

Today I took J. to visit her future Kindergarten Class and while there I met a funny, saucy, cranky girl. I think I’m in love. It’s hard to make friends these days, what with the schedules, and the different values, and the opinions and the swearing. I still have my posse from college days and some fabulous internet friends, but there’s nothing like a real live girlfriend to bring me joy. So the parents were either hovering or letting their visiting pre-K kids make their way to this or that activity table. Maureen was standing back and letting her girl run free (a good sign). She offered friendly waves and encouragement but nothing too crazy-mommy-worldish. When she mentioned her big wig job as a regional manager of thus and so, and her pro-Barak Obama bumper sticker, I knew I had to get her number.

As we crouched on the floor and kvetched about Bellingham (ok, it was mainly me), she laughed and joked and swore. And when cheery annoying Kindergarten teacher asked us if we had any questions, we both just laughed and said “No!” and watched while she puzzled and slunked away.

So now… how to set up the first get together meet-up without seeming stalkerish. Should I wait 3 days? Or go ahead and send her an email today….

11 Responses to “The Bitch is Back and She’s My Girl”


  1. April 24, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    I’m very happy for you… But also seething with envy. There are no moms like her OR you here. They’re all these icky uber moms with overscheduled kids that are taking Spanish classes at 3 and painting classes at 4. And swearing? As IF!

    I say wait a day or two so she doesn’t think you’re all stalkery. Does she know about your blog?

  2. April 24, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    I’d give it 24 hours before you email…you don’t want to seem to keen. When the kids are in kindergarten what will you do with all your free time?? apart from ooh, shopping and pedicures and long lunches and …believe me, you are gonna love it!!

  3. April 25, 2007 at 8:41 am

    Wait the 24 hours or she’ll think you are a pathetic nutjob.

    Man, I so wish I had a five year old kiddy in your kindergarten class. We’d rule the school, bee-yotch.

    Okay, so I’m really a nerd, but a totally bitchy one.

  4. April 25, 2007 at 8:55 am

    I’m for waiting a bit, too. It’s funny how trying to make friends with another mother can seem so much like dating, except without the heavy petting and hickeys.

  5. April 25, 2007 at 9:06 am

    This story brings a tear to my eye. I remember finally meeting my ladies almost 4 years into motherhood. It was such a relief! But I don’t know when to tell you to call. They called me. I’m cool like that you know.;)

  6. April 25, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Send her the e-mailoff… as she is probably feeling the same…
    Once you find someone that you gel with…i say seize the day …you deserve to give yourself a friend… and one that has the same values… jump on it!

  7. April 25, 2007 at 11:05 am

    3 days is the norm, but if you are really feeling it, I say go for it. Don’t want somebody else snagging her first.

  8. April 25, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Eh, I’d email the same day. If she’s truly a bird of a feather, she’s probably sitting around wondering why that cool woman from her child’s kindergarten class hasn’t pinged her, and thinking that there must be something wrong with HER for you not to write.

    Admit it, mommas – you’d all be having the same fears if it were you…

  9. April 25, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    Well, you aren’t dating so I say screw it and email. IF she truly appreciates a saucy, awesome chicka full of fun like you, she won’t mind at all!

  10. April 27, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Same day! Email today! Hesitation bad. Impulsivity good! Well, most of the time.

  11. April 27, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    If you can’t wait… email away. But then don’t reply to her reply for days. Makes her think you jotted it all down before you could forget — and then went on to “more important things.”

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

