23
Apr
07

Mommy Juice

Not that kind.. this kind…

toddler-nursing.gif

I’m attempting to wean V. Again. Because nursing a toddler? Is like being attacked by a pack of wolves.

A few weeks ago, breastfeeding became an integral part of her louder and more demanding tantrums. They now include her chasing me around screaming “Boob!” “Boob!” It’s time for mama to have her body back.

Weaning is such a tricky business. There are the “child led weaning” advocates, the “What? She’s still breastfeeding?” people, and then there’s me. V is my last baby. My sweetest pudding. I have been ambivalent about cutting her off because that will require me to face up to the fact that she’s not a baby any longer. She’s a full-fledged-mini-Mussolini-with pretty blond hair.

A screamer, biter, kicker, firecracker, who took the place of my mild-mannered cheerful sprout.

She and I have come all this long way together. And who doesn’t appreciate the worshipful attention and nutrients served up at one’s own body store? But then the time comes and you have to say goodbye…. to this phase… It’s not going to be easy.

***
Meanwhile, thanks to the nice peeps over at MomJunction for linking to CrankMama all week. Give them some love and go check them out!

4 Responses to “Mommy Juice”


  1. April 23, 2007 at 9:28 am

    Good luck! My wife is one of the child-led weaning advocates, mostly because we firmly believe in lazy parenting, and nothing is lazier than letting the boy (~20 mo. and nursing) do it himself! đŸ™‚

  2. April 23, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    Good luck. It is certainly a double edged sword to wean.

  3. April 23, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    I just went through this debate myself and decided not to wean. But she is only 11 months so I guess there’s no rush.

  4. April 23, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    Good luck! It is definitely a bittersweet feeling.


Leave a Reply

