15
Apr
07

Play Dates I Will Accept.

women-talking.jpg

For any of the nice ladies who occasionally send me emails asking if I want to set up a playdate or play group for our kids, I’ve created a nice handy list of the types of playdates that I revel in.

I will gladly attend a play group or play date in which any of the following topics are discussed in depth:

1. Lesbian tantra weekends – what you learned, how straight women and their husbands can benefit from your education.

2. Drink recipes – which drinks you find most effective for killing mommy blahs.

3. Shoes – why you love them, where you buy them, the width, depth, and breadth of your collection.

4. Sex life –
your methods for having fabulous lovin every day in your boudoir temple of love.

5. Trips you are planning to take without kids – cruises, weekend trips down highway 101 for wine tasting, even an overnight at a hotel. I’m all ears.

6. Humorous birth stories
– nothing gory here, ladies, just funny tales of epidurals and laughing nurses, something involving you having the last laugh.

7. Politics
– I will debate and discuss politics of any flavor, kind, political persuasion. Just be smart and quick about it, and I’ll be all yours.

8. Books
– I will discuss any and all books as long as they are not on Oprah’s book list and as long as they are not authored by anyone with the last name Grisham or Collins.

9. Passion – I will discuss any old thing you’re passionate about as long as you’re, well, passionate about it. Gesticulations and yelling welcome.

That pretty much sums it up. Oh, and if you are going to bring your kids along, would you please make sure they are not the topic of conversation and that they don’t interrupt our fascinating conversation every two seconds? Don’t have kids at all? So much the better!!

20 Responses to “Play Dates I Will Accept.”


  1. April 15, 2007 at 9:00 am

    Send me your availability…

  2. April 15, 2007 at 9:09 am

    I wish I a.) had kids and b.) lived in the p.northwest because I would totally want to have a playdate with you. Those are my favorite topics! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Meg
    April 15, 2007 at 10:24 am

    Hehe. You and I will get along Just Fine πŸ˜›

  4. April 15, 2007 at 10:39 am

    I can oblige on topics 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 9.

    At the next Friday afternoon club we may break out the goods for a Pimms Cup or two. While the children are screaming in the distance, I’ll just kick back with the girls (and guys…we don’t discriminate) and pretend like I’m in the courtyard of the Napoleon House in New Orleans, talking ’bout whatever I damn well please.

  5. April 15, 2007 at 11:15 am

    If you ever drive down to Seattle, we can have a playdate where much alcohol and hot anesthesiologist talk will abound.

  6. April 15, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    You are so damn funny. And I completely agree with your list. In fact, I think that when Will and I become fathers, I’ll insist on almost the same list…minus the shoe-part…but now that I think about it, maybe we’ll leave that part in…

  7. April 15, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    I can’t contribute to item #1 but if you find someone who can, email me, and I’m there.

    As for the rest of the list, is it cool if I bring the mommy juice?

  8. April 15, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    I pretty much accept playdates that have lots of FRESH coffee and that they don’t expect to come to my house….ever.

  9. April 16, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    I love idea of play-dates sans kiddos. Sounds so much more relaxing. But then, if I had no kiddos, I’d actually have a paid job, and then I’d have to go to work instead of discussing lesbian tantric sex and politics and my c-section.

    Dammit.

  10. April 16, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    You got that right…the best play dates I’ve been have been ones sans kids.

  11. April 17, 2007 at 7:08 pm

    The Lesbian TAntric one cracked me up! I think Playdates are stressfuL!

  12. April 18, 2007 at 12:02 am

    I will bring the drinks. But which one? Kids? Yeah, I taught mine to make a martini the other day. You want another?

  13. April 18, 2007 at 7:30 am

    LOL – this is hilarious. I love the part about having the kids not interrupt our conversations. I am always wishing that. Just submitted this to The Baby Bug.

  14. April 19, 2007 at 12:13 am

    Aww…don’t you want to talk about little Johnny’s teeth? Or how it was so CUTE when little Jane hit daddy repeatedly over the head when he refused to buy her another Barbie Doll??

  15. April 19, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    If you find a playgroup which meets all or many of these specifications then please LET ME KNOW! I want to joinn. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

