01
Apr
07

Potty Mouth Kids Have Higher IQs

swearing-kids.jpg
A recent study found that children who use swear words to communicate their feelings actually have higher IQs than kids who refrain. “Kids who swear are highly expressive, more assertive, and extremely capable of defending themselves against bullies,” declares study author Dr. Lucinda Streets. “Sometimes a good old f-bomb does more to tell the story of being five, than all those Dr. Seuss books put together,” adds Dr. Streets.

Parents spend a lot of time worrying about swearing in front of their children. Maybe all that energy could be better spent applying for preschools and signing the kids up for cello lessons. Besides, parents are always lectured about “speaking their kid’s language.”

Isn’t it high time they start speaking ours? Damn!

[For more fun and hijinx, go here]

******

Another helpful childrearing discovery a friend and I made is the beneficial effects of a little scotch and soda before naptime for the under-5 set.

Here she is sipping away

scotch-on-the-rocks.jpg

And here she is just an hour later.. sleeping

scotchonrocks.JPG

It works!!

8 Responses to “Potty Mouth Kids Have Higher IQs”


  1. April 1, 2007 at 6:56 am

    This is great news! Now I don’t feel bad about my competely failed effort to stop swearing in front of my guys.

  2. April 1, 2007 at 7:16 am

    I’m forwarding this to my mother, who fears my newsroom potty mouth is going to rub off on young Avery.

    I say “Drop that f bomb, sistah!”

  3. 3 Meg
    April 1, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    So I was just a brilliant child? That’s great news!

  4. April 1, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    I can’t believe you would serve your child scotch. You ought to be ashamed of yourself. Some parent YOU are. Don’t you know gin works better? An hour? Try 5 minutes …

  5. April 2, 2007 at 12:27 am

    You fooled me, dammit.

  6. April 2, 2007 at 8:54 am

    Too bad this wasn’t the truth…my kids would be f#*king brilliant!

    I have a new blog addy….

  7. April 2, 2007 at 10:14 am

    You totally had me fooled with the profanity bit. The Scotch gave it away. So gullible am I.

  8. April 2, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    I’d be happy to let my kids eff and blind, but for the world of school and being punished for saying ‘shit’. I suppose your two don’t have all that crap to deal with yet.


Leave a Reply

