18
Mar
07

Roller Derby Babes on Wheels….

roller-betties.jpg
I whooped and hollered when I read this piece in today’s Bellingham Herald and made a vow: I’m trying out for the Bellingham Roller Betties, our town’s all-girl roller derby team next Sunday at 7pm. Mark my words, friend.

I’m having a mid-life crisis anyway, and a violent, costume-rich sport is far healthier than a young Latin boyfriend and a corvette, don’t you think?

Move over Farrah, I’m getting some short shorts, fishnets, and puttin’ on the wheeeeeeels!!

**also wrote about this over at Babble****

14 Responses to “Roller Derby Babes on Wheels….”


  1. March 18, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    This article was in today’s Washington Post (the other washington): http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/03/15/AR2007031501722.html

    I love the girl’s nickname: Speedy Gonbraless

  2. 2 karrie
    March 19, 2007 at 3:46 am

    A friend of ours does roller derby here in Boston. I considered trying out, but the travel schedule was really intense. Hmmm…on second thought.

    Anyway, she is now amazingly buff and seems to have a blast. Hope you like it!

  3. 3 MeL
    March 19, 2007 at 9:23 am

    Oh Baby… Don’t think of it as a mid-life crisis. Think of it in terms of “hiring a bi-weekly housekeeper is much much cheaper than extended therapy.”

    Or so I’m telling myself, while I search for reasonably priced cleaning services and schedule more therapy. 🙂

  4. March 19, 2007 at 10:57 am

    I suppose kicking someone’s ass on roller skates would be fairly therapeutic.

  5. 5 PunditMom
    March 19, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    You go, girlfriend!

  6. March 20, 2007 at 11:55 am

    Damn….I would be 5 months pregnant! I will have to look into this in another 5 or 6 months! What a RIOT!!! Keep us posted!

  7. March 20, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    DUDE. There better be pictures.

  8. March 20, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    That’s cool!
    I say go for it and practice your “growling” in the mirror often.

  9. March 20, 2007 at 6:04 pm

    One of the DC rollergirls has a daughter that is on the soccer team that I coach. This woman is six feet and then some without her skates, and is pretty awesome.

    Looking forward to hearing about your exploits, CM.

  10. March 20, 2007 at 7:06 pm

    Sounds hilarious…I want photos…you’ll probably attract a new pervy demographic to your blog…the mommy rollerskate fishnet fetishists.

  11. 13 Pia Mess
    April 1, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    Hi –
    Pia Mess here from the Rat City Rollergirls! I just went up and ran a practice for the Betties. A couple of days after the try outs…how did you do? I am a SAHM of 2 bio kids (4 & 2) and a foster baby (6 months). This is my 3rd year of derby and let me tell you…what an outlet! It is definately my “me time!”


Leave a Reply

