07
Mar
07

Auction THIS!

This morning at 7:30am, my boss came and asked me to edit the auction catalog and make a variety of font, writing, and picture changes, so that it could be ready to go to the printer tomorrow morning.

In came my co-worker a few hours later who took one look at what I’d done and then burst into tears. She was crying her heart out there at her desk because she thought it was her project and here I’d taken it over. It didn’t take long for me to dissolve into tears too, which brought up once again the joys of NOT working in an all-woman environment any longer.

We’re all patched up now, she and I, and all is relatively well. I’m always surprised when something so everyday is cause for a crying jag. Crying and work simply do not go together. Frankly, I”m not a huge fan of crying at all. Sometimes, I wish I was someone who could bottle it up inside and be a cool cucumber. A Mommy with nice nails and a clean shirt. But alas, that ain’t me.

9 Responses to “Auction THIS!”


  1. March 7, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    I hate making people feel bad too – even if it’s not my fault. And it totally sounds like it wasn’t your fault!

  2. March 7, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    There’s no crying in baseball!!!

    I loathe conflict and confrontation.

  3. 3 karrie
    March 8, 2007 at 8:30 am

    Ugh. Crying at work is the worst feeling.

  4. March 8, 2007 at 8:34 am

    Wow, that’s really [sexist comment redacted].

  5. March 8, 2007 at 10:41 am

    If crying is the biggest problem for you in the all female environment, then lucky for you. Any time I worked in an all girls environment it was a very bitchy, back stabbing scene, a bit like being at high school.

  6. 6 Sue
    March 8, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Sometimes it’s just the stress of keeping it all together that does it … and then something small and everyday sets you off. Today I was getting my son settled at daycare after a whirlwind-crazy morning, and he appeared at my side to show me how a new and exciting toy at daycare worked. The pride and eagerness on his little face set me off — the fact that he wanted to share it with ME — and there I was, trying to hide tears from the other parents and daycare workers 🙂

  7. March 8, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    I feel like a good cry today – can I come to your office?

  8. March 10, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Crying bad. Terminating your colleagues with autoimatic weapons fire worse. It’s all relative. Where di I put that clip?

  9. March 10, 2007 at 1:14 pm

    I hear you.

    But at the end of the day, how many of us are really one of those mommies with nice nails (I’m looking at mine…not so nice) and a clean shirt? Even the ones who say they are, they’re really not.


Leave a Reply

