02
Mar
07

Confessions of a Real Estate Hussy

home-sweet-home.jpg

I love to look at websites full of houses for sale. It started as an innocent diversion, a useful endeavor even, when we were looking for houses almost 18 months ago. But now it serves no practical purpose whatsoever. It’s just a dreamy diversion from my cracker carpet filled living room.

Maybe if we move… Maybe if we live closer to the grocery store…

The dream is less about the house itself (I like small, cozy, unusual even though I currently reside in big, fancy, and cookie cutter), and more about what it represents: A better life, better schools, walking distance to pubs and coffee places and restaurants and bookstores. In short, it’s a proxy for all my big dreams.

When you have kids housing takes on this extra dimension. It’s nesting, in the truest sense. Nesting… ah.. the fun of nesting. Cuddling up, picking colors, finding comfy furniture, making a place homey and welcoming a warm.

I’m a real estate hussy. But I simply cannot give it up. At least not today. And at least I’m not alone in this wicked pursuit.

12 Responses to “Confessions of a Real Estate Hussy”


  1. March 2, 2007 at 10:17 am

    You need to move to the big city darling…so do I!!

  2. 2 jen
    March 2, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    I TOTALLY scan Windermere…John L Scott and Craigslist on a daily basis for houses. Even though we just bought our “dream home” 2 years ago. I am obsessed as well. I thought I was odd…but now I know I have company. 🙂

  3. 3 karrie
    March 2, 2007 at 12:45 pm

    We sometimes go to open houses “just for fun”.

    Personally, I’m beginning to become obsessed with the idea of owning some mixed-use property, since a subway line is coming to my ‘hood.

    Look out Trumps! 😉

  4. March 2, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    Ugh. Find me one while you’re out there.

  5. March 2, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    It’s an addiction of mine too, mostly focused around a bigger kitchen done in dark wood, rich colors and luxurious granite counters.

    When you cook like the Swedish chef (as I do) cleaning up a white kitchen is a royal effing pain in the ass.

    Which is why I have my eye on those houses with kitchens that prolly go unused. I love to see how the other half lives…

  6. March 3, 2007 at 5:25 am

    Our building project won’t be finished until May and it is 3 years since we last lived in a house that was both ours and not full of builders. Looking at beautiful houses for sale just makes me burst into floods of bitter tears.

  7. March 5, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    I am addicted to real estate websites….and now we are ‘trying’ to seriously hunt….it just depresses me as I am forced to narrow and lower my ‘dream home’ expectations!

  8. March 5, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    We’re always looking too, but oddly in the same neighborhood.
    When you live in one place for awhile, you get use to it.

  9. March 5, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    I stalked a house for sale in my own neighborhood today just because it backs up to our neighborhood park. We have one full bathroom in a house with three women…just ain’t gonna work once our oldest hits 12 or 10 or so. Eeek.

  10. March 7, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    I do it too! I’ll play the “what if” game and look for what we could afford in some small midwestern or southern town and drool over the properties we “could” have had. It’s so much damn fun!

  11. March 10, 2007 at 1:42 am

    lol…glad to know I’m not the only one whiling away an entire evening on realtor.com


Leave a Reply

