22
Feb
07

Kinder Garden

women-priests.jpg

We’re shopping around for schools for the twins, who will begin their auspicious schooling debut next Fall. As a keener and total school-head overachiever, to say that I load a bit of significance onto this choice would be a massive understatement.

And tomorrow will be their “Kindergarten Assessment Test” a very intimidating sounding gate-keeping exercise for the local Episcopalian school, which I’m favoring so far above the others both for schedule (it’s full day) ratio (15 students to each teacher, compared to 28 per) and feel (I cried from the homey loving aura of the place). And there’s also the small matter that women can be ordained priests (HALLELUJAH!!).

School was such a haven for me… A world where rules were clear and achievement was so easily accomplished (hard work, tenacity). While I’d describe my growing up years as pretty happy, I did lack somewhat in the order amid chaos department.

So I’ll begin this huge transition to schoolyears with the usual mix of awe, and trouble, and happiness, and hope. And if my daughters find a love of learning and reading amid all the usual problems, I’ll be deeply happy.

6 Responses to “Kinder Garden”


  1. February 22, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    …and we will all be reading to learn from you!

  2. February 22, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    Let us know how it goes, CM.

  3. 3 skagitbarbara
    February 23, 2007 at 9:39 am

    I remember my kindergarten teacher with awe and love. Th,ough I cried and didn’t want to stay the first day after that it was great. This sounds like a great choice. The twins will love it.

  4. February 23, 2007 at 11:53 am

    My twin boys are 8 now and HUGE bookworms. I’m so happy I about CRY every time I see one with his nose buried in a book.

    Fun times!


Leave a Reply

