20
Feb
07

DoorsWideOpen

Thump, thump, thump. Creak. Sniffle. Cry. “Mama?” “MAMAAA??????” “MAMA!”

Ergh. “Yes?”

“Sometimes you don’t understand me.”

Ergh. “I don’t?”

“No. Sometimes you don’t understand.”

Shuffle, shuffle, robe. Door open. Peer down at small serious face. “I’m sorry I don’t always understand you honey. Sometimes I don’t understand myself.”

“Oh.”

Hands, walk, walk, tuck in, kiss, hug.

“Mommy? Why is President Bush so mean?”

*PROUD SMILE*

12 Responses to “DoorsWideOpen”


  1. 1 mama featheren
    February 20, 2007 at 8:43 am

    What a fantastic little creature you’re raising there.

    Keep your eye on that one…sounds like she’s got quite a few surprises in store for you

  2. 2 PunditMom
    February 20, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    I LOVE her! She and R. must get together — I was getting a speech from R. in the car the other day about how she doesn’t like Bush because he lies! 😉

  3. February 20, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    mean? why is he soooo stupid?

  4. February 21, 2007 at 12:29 am

    Look at that! As smart and witty as mom! Funny how they can knock you down and pick you up within the span of one stumped pause from a ignorant world leader…

  5. February 21, 2007 at 8:32 am

    I was concerned about inflicting my own politics on Miles and Porter… That faded as soon as my wife found a cool “President Poopyhead” T-shirt for sale…

  6. 6 jen
    February 21, 2007 at 11:05 am

    EXCELLENT!!!! Babywit.com has GREAT anti-Bush shirts for kiddos. I purchased the “I already know more then the President” for both Bubber and Little Pea. Keep teaching her sistah!!! POWER TO THE LITTLE PEOPLE! 🙂

  7. February 22, 2007 at 9:27 am

    That’s what I’m talking about, sister. You’re raising a fine one there. 😉

  8. February 22, 2007 at 9:29 am

    And maybe that little intelligent angel could teach quite a few adults something about deductive reasoning. Shall we get busy on a book tour?

  9. February 22, 2007 at 10:16 am

    Goodness me, you have a deep thinker there. And someone with very sound political instincts!

  10. February 24, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Well, someone has a good political head on her small little shoulders!

  11. March 10, 2007 at 1:46 am

    Once when my daughter was about 4 she told me that if she had a bakery, George Bush wouldn’t be allowed in it.

    *beaming with pride*


Leave a Reply

