14
Feb
07

Pajama Party

Young children are sometimes like soft marshmallow pillows full of comfort (albeit smelly ones). After a long day or in the middle of a cranky one, we have pajama parties. We all take a bath, get in our jammies, and then snuggle on the couch and eat popcorn and watch a movie.

When the world is all rough edges and debates and wars, the comfort of snuggling in pjs is balm to the harried soul. V, J, and O, are my sweet triumvirate… the table leg tall rulers of my full universe.

I always joke with them that they are so cute I’m going to put them in a pie. Thankfully, they still let me squeeze and hug them and smell their stinky cute faces. I know it won’t be long now until all I feel is air…

**
In other news, the reporter of the Time Magazine piece on hipster parenting agreed to an interview with me. My very first!! If you want to take a look, it is posted here.

You can also go to directly to Stroller Derby now.

And thanks for reading!
**

8 Responses to “Pajama Party”


  1. February 14, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    I’m at the 1/2 air phase myself. Enjoy it while you can get it. Because you know when the air is coming, but it’s still a shock when it does.

  2. February 14, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    I’m taking notes from you!

  3. February 15, 2007 at 9:14 am

    Very nice.

    Though we don’t do the pajama party thing over yonder, we do snuggle up and read or watch a cartoon at the end of a day.

    Maybe we should throw in the pajmas, just because.

  4. February 15, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Squeeze ’em til it hurts! That’s what I do.

  5. 5 PunditMom
    February 15, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    We have the same Pajama Parties at our house! They’re the best!

  6. February 15, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    I can’t get that link to work. but congrats… well deserved.

    And I love that post, btw. love. it.

  7. February 16, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    Lyrical, knowing, perfect.

  8. February 16, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    We do something similar in our home. We drag the futon cushion from the den into our family room, pile on the pillows, pop popcorn (of course) and snuggle while we watch a movie.

    It’s more of a once a month/special occasion thing, but we love it. Sophia actually asks to snuggle with us now. Ben just likes the movie and popcorn.


Leave a Reply

