08
Feb
07

Diff’rent Strokes Baby

diffrent-strokes.jpg

Welcome to “Celebrate Blended Families” Day at CrankMama. Are you blended, but not broken? Does your family have an untraditional arrangement? What is your concept of real family? Is it a group of people who you select and who love you, or does it include your biological or adoptive children and pets?

I’m on a quest to increase diversity of family discussions in the blogosphere. Part of this is to continue to write about blended families and hear what you have to say on the subject. Head over to Babble today to see my piece on this topic.

3 Responses to “Diff’rent Strokes Baby”


  1. February 8, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    One of my favorite things to tell people when talk of interesting families starts up is that I have 6 siblings and I’m the only one related to all. And the only time they were all in the same room was at my wedding. Some are my step-siblings and some are my half-siblings but I share a unique relationship with all that I am grateful for.

    It’s like a bad country music song… I play the role of youngest sister, oldest sister and only child depending on the audience.

    Fortunately, I’ve been blessed with decent step-parents and actually have no recollection of my own parents being together. So I’ve been spared the drama that goes along with first getting step parents.

    Oh, and I’m not allowed to call my father’s wife my step-mother. She hates the term as she says it conjures up images of Cinderella’s evil stepmother and the like.

    OK, now I’m rambling…sorry.

  2. February 9, 2007 at 5:57 am

    A good topic, CM!

    I have been reading a few different blogs on this subject recently… I’ll probably write about my own situation this weekend… but for now I’ll just say that “family” means a lot more than just blood kin, or spouse, to me.

    The people I am related to by blood, for the most part, mean less to me than those that love me for me, and I them. I am fortunate to have many people that love and care for me and I return that love and caring… They are the only family I really NEED.

  3. February 9, 2007 at 8:22 am

    Hi Rachel,
    Thanks for writing about this, thanks for reading, and thanks for the shout out on Babble.

    Do rock on,
    Stepblog


Leave a Reply

