27
Dec
06

Travelin’ Fool

Awhile back, I wrote a post about reasons not to travel with kids, and then a nifty e-book on the subject.

And then I traveled to Denver from Bellingham with my children. The trip involved many stale pretzels, two bad potty emergencies barely averted, five fits, and one fabulous honey baked ham.

We woke up at 3am and arrived here 14 hours later.

‘Nuf Said.


11 Responses to “Travelin’ Fool”


  1. December 28, 2006 at 7:17 am

    Wow. I think those couple of sentences pretty much made your e-book redundant.

  2. December 28, 2006 at 9:28 am

    Who threw the fits? You? (From the sounds of it you had all the reason in the world) Or them?

    Me, I think I would have thrown at least two of the five fits.

  3. December 28, 2006 at 10:04 am

    Look on the bright side pretty lady. You missed the snow storm lock in at Denver airport. I found that flying to Europe with my five year old wasn’t too bad, it was the crazed three year old that really turned my hair white.

  4. December 28, 2006 at 4:52 pm

    oh it cant be good that our local news is doing hourly stories on Denver airport, can it?

  5. December 28, 2006 at 8:32 pm

    I am so not travelling in a car with the baby!! It’s all about the plane!

  6. 6 karrie
    December 29, 2006 at 5:23 am

    We drove from Boston to Las Vegas and back when our son was 4 months old. I was in need of an adventure, and there were lots of people along the way that we wanted to introduce him to. It was stressful at times, but at that age he slept quite a bit and was happy with the non-driving parent sitting next to him and chatting.

    At 2, and potty trained, I can see some potential problems, but I would still consider a long-ish road trip as long as we could make plenty of stops.

    Going to check your eBook now. In a past life, I worked in the travel industry, so I’m curioud.

  7. 7 karrie
    December 29, 2006 at 5:27 am

    Ok, it was a quick read. Have you ever been to Beaches or one of those family all inclusives with babysitting available? I’m not really an all inclusive type,but have been considering a short jaunt someplace warm to one of these “kid-friendly” spots. (No family nearby to watch our son.)

  8. December 29, 2006 at 12:39 pm

    Thank God for the “barely averted” part though, right?

  9. December 29, 2006 at 3:39 pm

    welcome to snowy snowy denver!

  10. 10 PunditMom
    December 31, 2006 at 1:06 pm

    Ooooo. I’m SOOO sorry! That’s enough to make CrankMama even crankier, I bet! I hope the rest of the holidays go well, notwithstanding the weather in Denver!


Leave a comment