26
Dec
06

Callin’ All CrankMama Parents!!

I’ve written an anti-joint-custody-during-the-holidays piece today over at Babble and I’m fastening my seat belts for a huge anti-divorce backlash.

Care to weigh in?

Those of you who have been reading over here for awhile, know that I take access for all parents seriously and I make sure my daughters see their father whenever they can and on a regular schedule. This piece is about a mama missing her kids at Christmas (& needling the ‘father’s rights’ peeps). I just couldn’t help myself. I’m a mean bad lady.

Meanwhile, I’ve fixed the comments for now… but if I get re-spammed, you’re going to have to register to share your joyous insights with me.

10 Responses to “Callin’ All CrankMama Parents!!”


  1. December 26, 2006 at 1:27 pm

    Me. I’m with you. And I said as much chez Babble.

    So power to the mean bad ladies who want to say what’s on their minds! As the adult child of divorced parents, I think “father’s rights” may well be a euphemism for “hands off parenting” anyway. Don’t believe me? Then chat up my mother, who has the big thick court file full of stuff that indicates my father felt it was his right NOT to pay child support. (Apparently he felt it was her right to inseminate her twice though…)

  2. December 26, 2006 at 1:29 pm

    In my comment, I meant to post “Apparently he felt it was HIS right to inseminate her twice though…” Too many pronouns, too much confusion. Sorry.

  3. 3 karrie
    December 26, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    Good for you for being so honest!

    I’ve heard it said several times that you’re not *really* a writer until your your words piss people off. Makes sense to me. 🙂

  4. December 26, 2006 at 6:17 pm

    I don’t know what it is like over there but this country is now swarming with batshit crazy men dressed as superheroes and pulling stunts on top of public buildings to prove they should have access to their children. They should not have access to sharp objects let alone children.

  5. December 27, 2006 at 12:17 pm

    Oh, that woman pissed me off. You should have read the six replies I DELETED.

    GRRRRRRR.

  6. December 28, 2006 at 8:37 am

    I can’t imagine how difficult that must be to not have your children during the holidays. While I have never been divorced, I have numerous friends who have been. My latest friend to experience this joy is one whose husband left her for gaining weight….YEAH! you read that correctly! Anyway, he was trying to wrangle having the kids on Christmas Eve and until 3 on Christmas day! I swear, I think that would drive me crazy! Preach on, mean lady…..because when it comes to your children, the gloves come off!!!!!!!!!

  7. 7 JustaDad
    December 29, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    Boy, dads sure are taking a beating over this! That you mothers so often get screwed over by your kids’ father is not in question. I would object to such a broadside however – many of us make a sincere attempt to be good, involved fathers and know that being a good “ex” to you is an important part of that. (The jerks just make for a better story, don’t they?)

    However if you re-read CrankMama’s post you’ll see this is not about the twins’ father but about her pain. So let’s keep in mind that many a father also feels the pain and they should also be able to know the joy of waking up xmas morning with their kids.

    And isn’t that the best we can do? Share the pain, share the joy, and be good to each other?

    HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

  8. 8 mama featheren
    December 30, 2006 at 7:26 pm

    I have to acknowledge, I can see JustaDad’s point of view. My brother (who’s 2 kids are now teens) is married to a European woman, and they’ve spent almost all of their Christmases here, in this country (away from her family). A couple of years ago, she shipped the kids off to Scandinavia to spend Xmas with her folks, while my brother stayed home and celebrated with all of us. Well, I have to tell you, you’ve never seen such a sorry sod as was my brother that Christmas without his kids. His extraordinary ebullience and zest for life were gone, and he sat opening his presents like a deflated balloon the day after a birthday. It broke my heart to see.

    That said, I cannot even IMAGINE not spending a Christmas with my little baby. We just had our first with her, and I cherished every minute of it!

  9. 9 PunditMom
    December 31, 2006 at 1:13 pm

    I have to say I agree (and you’re probably right to worry about the dad lobby!). But having just spent the last month doing the cookie baking, gingerbread house making, school play attending, Charlie Brown Christmas-watching thing, mostly solo, I think I would have squatter’s rights to this time of year!

  10. January 1, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    I’ll have to check it out…


Leave a Reply

