15
Dec
06

Putting the “Id” Back in “Libido”

Freud developed several well-known theories of the human psyche (penis envy among them) in the 1920s and 30s that remain quite relevant today. Assuming for a second that we, the parent types, strive to raise our children from the highest part of our psyches (the super-ego), might our occasional lack of passion in the sack be tied to our tendency to rightly ignore the id?

An example: Your sick child throws up on you. You don’t yell out “Hey sis, what’s UP with the barf?” although you may want to. You don’t smack her and scold her (if you do, you’ll end up on Parents Behaving Badly and no one wants that). You give her hugs, clean her off, and sing her a sweet song. You do the laundry. Finally bedtime rolls around and you, in all of your smelly sexiness, crawl into bed exhausted.

Does this seem like a scenario likely to render the bedroom a den of passionate iniquity?

If your bedroom is anything like mine, it’s more likely to be the repository for stacks of unfolded laundry with drawers brimming with dusty sex toys, than a fantasy boudoir.

And perhaps that’s the problem. Maybe we need to check our super-egos at the door and let our ids run buck wild.

I plan to do this… as soon as I fold the laundry.

Hot times, my friends. Hot. Times.

14 Responses to “Putting the “Id” Back in “Libido””


  1. December 15, 2006 at 5:43 am

    I think it’s important to have some wild sex as well as being a responsible parent. Having some respect for the spouse is good in the long run and leads to more fun a nd a better relationship. That reminds me of the importance of giving the other spouse, usually the mother, some time aways from the kids. It’s just basic respect and commons sense

    Nice weekend

    AD

  2. December 15, 2006 at 7:14 am

    “Wild sex”? Whats that?

    Oh… I remember… it’s that stuff we USED to do.

  3. December 15, 2006 at 7:32 am

    Hot times indeed. I know when I’ve been used as a Kleenex all day, I’m soooo bordello.

  4. December 15, 2006 at 9:19 am

    Ohhh…
    For a minute there I thought you had a video cam in my house…
    You are truly one of my long lost soul sistas!

  5. December 15, 2006 at 9:46 am

    You just reminded me that I used to ravish my husband the MINUTE the kids were both in bed.

    He gets back in town tomorrow. I think tomorrow will be a nap day so that I have a CHANCE of actually being AWAKE once the kids are both in bed. Hell, I’ll even shave my legs! Whoo Hoo!

    (Any bets as to wether this will actually happen?)

  6. December 15, 2006 at 11:39 am

    I doesnt help when the kids are asleep in YOUR bed, either.

  7. December 15, 2006 at 1:33 pm

    I think you need to not have sex in the bedroom or indeed even on the same floor as where the kids sleep. I usually do it in the living room or basement, for some reason that works better. Oh and by the way, I need your razor sharp mind to give me an answer to my poll on my blog today.

  8. 8 bec
    December 15, 2006 at 2:17 pm

    I reckon you need both kinds of sex once there are short people in your house.

    There is a need for a bit of duty-bound, too-tired-but-ok, ‘maintenance’ sex in order to ensure everything still works for those times when the hot, wild, discovery channel sex kicks in…
    which, admittedly, is unlikely when one or both partners smell of kid spew and have crusty bits of other people’s snot in their hair.

  9. December 15, 2006 at 3:16 pm

    No, the bedroom is definitely not like that. But…jeez, I want it to be. With a pole and a disco ball.

    Ahhh, married life.

  10. 10 karrie
    December 15, 2006 at 4:14 pm

    Dust and silicone sweeties do not mix. Seriously. I’ve actually pulled one out of The Drawer, covered in dust.

  11. December 15, 2006 at 7:39 pm

    Sex, what’s that? I know I’ve done it at least twice because the results are sleeping in the bedrooms upstairs…*rolls eyes*

  12. December 16, 2006 at 12:47 am

    I will find my libedo as soon make a path TO my bed and then unearth it from laundry.

  13. December 16, 2006 at 8:10 pm

    Oh man, the LAUNDRY! Why DOES it end up in the bedroom in stacks waiting, for weeks to be folded? It really is not conducive to the id! We need your advice, CM!

  14. December 19, 2006 at 9:56 am

    brilliant stuff, just brilliant! i was hoping to send you an e-card but can’t seem to work out how. if you come on over to my place, you can send yourself one!
    x


Leave a Reply

