30
Nov
06

The Peace of Wild Things

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,

I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief.  I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light.  For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

-Wendell Berry

8 Responses to “The Peace of Wild Things”


  1. 1 bec
    December 1, 2006 at 5:19 am

    Well that all sounds eminently sensible to me.

    I think I shall go looking for a wood drake’s den this very night…

  2. December 1, 2006 at 6:08 am

    CM, Thanks so much for this today. It’s so beautiful.

  3. December 1, 2006 at 7:17 am

    I love that. A beautiful reminder to live in the moment and enjoy the world.

  4. 4 deb
    December 1, 2006 at 8:13 am

    It’s a beautiful poem, thank you.

  5. December 1, 2006 at 9:56 am

    A sweet poetic reminder of what life has to offer.

  6. December 1, 2006 at 12:31 pm

    such beautiful words, thank you for sharing.

  7. December 1, 2006 at 5:21 pm

    Wow, that’s so pretty! I think we all need more poetry in our lives. Like, something that’s not obscene and not on a hallmark card. đŸ™‚

  8. December 3, 2006 at 8:41 am

    Beautiful…and I think that I’ll read it a few more times so that I just might be able to breathe it…

    Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

