29
Nov
06

Have I Ever Told You About Belliingham?

Despite the population of my fair city (nearly 72,000), I’m evidently not living anywhere near the clever legions of bloggers meeting up hither and thither and making real friendships around the globe.  They are apparently all running around having fun lunches, meeting for kidless, husbandless drinks, and making new friends at kid birthday parties.

Clearly, I haven’t properly sold you on the joys and beauties to behold in Bellingham.

First, where is Bellingham, WA?                    

Where_is_bham

Bellingham is only an hour South of the Canadian Border (only 90 minutes from cosmopolitand & exciting Vancouver, British Columbia).  And 90 minutes North of trendy and PC Seattle (you know, the place with the grunge music and pretty skyline).

Second, what does a person do for fun in Bellingham?

Our visitor’s bureau says it best:

"We are known for
our friendly people, authentic communities, cultural attractions and a
clean environment. Adventures from the relaxing to the exhilarating are
yours, all in a setting of stunning beauty."

You read it here.  Adventures.  Relaxing AND exhilarating.

Sailboat_jonbrunk

And if sailboats and gorgeous lakes, rivers, and mountains aren’t your thing, how about fabulous local music?

Wild_buffalo

Prefer drinks overlooking the gorgeous bay?  How about this?

Girldrinks

Or, there’s always hippie watching in our gorgeous Fairhaven District.

Hippies

See?

Bellingham + CrankMama = FUNNNNNNN

Barring this, perhaps we can meet at Blogher 07 (the one in Chicago).

***

P.S. Emma is coming to see me in January — woo hoo!!

11 Responses to “Have I Ever Told You About Belliingham?”


  1. November 29, 2006 at 2:15 pm

    Can’t wait to see you!! I think Bellingham sounds cool, you did tell me it is a nice town with lots of hippie watching so I look forward to that. If we get bored we can always get sloshed.

  2. 2 Anonymous
    November 29, 2006 at 2:31 pm

    I don’t do BlogHer–long story–but I would totally come hang in Bellingham. When I was younger and single, I sent away for real estate info for the San Juan islands and Bellingham. I’ve never visited either,but something about both drew me in.

    I came very close to moving out your way before I met my husband.

  3. November 29, 2006 at 2:32 pm

    Oops! I forgot to type my name and info.

  4. November 29, 2006 at 2:38 pm

    CM, Those are great photos of Bellingham. The only place I have ever visited in Washington is Seattle on business, which I really enjoyed.

    I haven’t met any other bloggers in person yet, but I am toying with the idea of BlogHer ’07!

  5. 5 jen
    November 29, 2006 at 3:28 pm

    I shall meet you for cocktails after the holidays dahlink! Maybe in January when Emma heads this way? 😉

  6. November 29, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    You? Emma? Together?

    Man, that sounds fun…

  7. November 30, 2006 at 6:19 am

    Oh, and I do so love a good hippiewatch.

  8. 8 Mel
    November 30, 2006 at 9:27 pm

    Is it bad that I am more likely to actually look like one of the hippies rather than particularly watching them?

    Except, of course, for the sugar-free vanilla skim latte in hand. I don’t think hippies believe in those. Well, that and the near-hysteric quality to my voice these days.

    Actually, come to think of it? The hippie squad would probably demand I turn in my hemp bracelets and force me to shower at least once a day, just to remove all doubt regarding my so-not-mellow-enough-to-be-stoned demeanor…

    *sigh*

    When can I get that drink???

  9. December 1, 2006 at 6:04 am

    I’d LOVE to come meet you!

    There are no other bloggers that I know of here in Phoenix except for one divorced, Catholic, ex-priest. Not, perhaps, the right person to meet up with for a drink.

    Did I mention how warm Phoenix is in the winter time? The incredible desert mountain views? Hiking? Come over!!!

  10. December 3, 2006 at 8:45 am

    DAMN IT!!! EMMA AND YOU TOGETHER??? EMMA IS COMING? THAT EMMA?

    I want to come too…I’m jealous now. And you’ve all excluded me from BlogHer.
    You two are going to have SO much fun in January. I can’t wait to read ALLLL about it!

  11. December 4, 2006 at 12:30 pm

    Yeah, I’m trying to see if people are interested in gathering in Los Angeles sometime soon. If anyone is, please let me know and I’ll try to organize things!


Leave a Reply

