10
Nov
06

It’s Not You, It’s Me

Dear Motherhood,

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about us and I feel it’s time to come clean about a few things.  Please don’t think my reticence and distance lately has been about you.  It hasn’t.  It’s been about me. 

Please don’t take it personally, Motherhood, the things you do are great, you try really hard… and you’re SO thoughtful.  It’s just that, well, I need more excitement.  Just a little more.  And I’m sure it’s all my fault and I’m planning to see a therapist… Wait. Don’t cry! Please!

I love your people, the small ones.. it’s the long hours and the no sex and the chubby ass I could live without.  And the "Ma’am" and the grocery shopping and the laundry. 

Here’s the thing.  You are my friend and will live in my heart always…

But I need to see other people. And I need to go dancing…

Love Always,
Rachael

16 Responses to “It’s Not You, It’s Me”


  1. 1 jen
    November 10, 2006 at 10:34 am

    I just sent that letter to myself as well!
    Come this way sista…I need to go shake my money maker as well. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. November 10, 2006 at 12:02 pm

    I hear you, sister…

  3. November 10, 2006 at 2:33 pm

    if you figure out how to ditch the chubby ass, let me know! thanks!

  4. November 10, 2006 at 3:31 pm

    I miss sex! Not to get too personal but I assume this no sexy is normal with an infant. I feel better now that i read this!

  5. November 10, 2006 at 4:30 pm

    You got a photocopy of that I can also send? I might have to add a P.S. or two at the end!

  6. November 10, 2006 at 5:08 pm

    Sex? Dancing? I have no recollection of either one of those things. Can you remind us? How can motherhood be so fulfilling and, yet, so draining, at the same time? And any tips on the chubby ass would be welcome (tho’ I’m sure you are more svelte than you give yourself credit for!)

  7. November 10, 2006 at 9:37 pm

    Oh god, I hear you so loud I’m holding my hands over my ears. The closest to dancing I get right now is doing the carseat shuffle, the waitingatthebus stop, the macandcheese and the twistedankle.

  8. November 11, 2006 at 6:27 am

    So funny! I especially hate the “My Mother Motherhood” moments when I catch myself saying something my mother said to me as a kid. Grrrrr.

  9. November 11, 2006 at 6:35 pm

    Dancing…..sex……I vaguely remember those things. Isn’t that what you do before you have kids? What you need is to gather up your girlfriends and hit the party scene. ( Not that any of us know where that is anymore!) Ask one of your childless friends. I am sure they will know!

  10. November 12, 2006 at 12:34 am

    Yep. This motherhood thing gets in the way of ALL our fun. Jeez.

  11. November 12, 2006 at 4:09 am

    For goodness sake, it’s amazing you’re not addicted to Valium. What with the twins and boob obsessed little v. I have no idea how you carve out five minutes for yourself…but I guess you need to get a sitter more and go out an paint the town red a little more.

  12. November 12, 2006 at 9:42 am

    You’re honest, baby…and that’s cool. At least you’re not pretending that everything is perfect, I think that’s when people really start to lose it.

    HAIL TO MOTHERS! HAIL TO WOMEN!
    THEY’RE GODDESSES.

    now, go shake your thang. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. 14 karrie
    November 12, 2006 at 9:45 am

    Dancing frequently leads to sex, which may in turn lead to more of those cute little people.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Still sounds worth risking though!

  14. November 14, 2006 at 6:10 am

    Oh, yes, motherhood, the evil force that takes over our lives! When I became pregnant with my first baby I had no idea how hard it would be.

  15. November 17, 2006 at 2:03 am

    so? did you go dancing? we DEMAND to know! (and please, spare no detail. vicarious dancing is about the best i can manage at the moment …)


Leave a Reply

