02
Nov
06

Chaos Land

I live in Chaos Land.  I read book after book aloud, in a cheerful voice hoping to "happy" the bad bugs away.  I clean bedding and jammies and stuffed animals and blankets.  I pet heads, rub backs, make jokes and clown around, hoping for a  wan smile from small sickies. 

I worry and fret and wake and walk.

And then today I stop.

I stop because I’m tired tired, bone tired. I leave work early (they say I look pale), I wave the white flag at every obligation except the most essential.  I rest and sit and sit some more.

Chaos, usually a distant cousin, moves in and takes a seat at the family table, as I allow my loved ones to become totally engulfed by goo, grime, and schmutz. As I whistle and look away, I turn a blind eye to the piles of toys, laundry, and candy wrappers populating the smooth surfaces in every room.  I serve oatmeal for dinner, and let the kids watch Christmas movies and stay in their pajamas.

For today, I am done Florence Nightengaling… I decide instead to be the peaceful Queen of Chaos Land. I lump around, talk on the phone, eat sugar, and smile at every request, neither committing to anything, nor denying anything.

I am the happy Queen of Chaos Land.  And I’m never going to clean again…

8 Responses to “Chaos Land”


  1. November 2, 2006 at 2:04 pm

    Good for you! Take a break. By the way, you got room for one more in Chaos land? I’ll settle for being a pricess or even a lady in waiting!

  2. November 2, 2006 at 3:16 pm

    Me to. Just say “NO” to cleaning.

  3. November 2, 2006 at 4:27 pm

    Chaotic as your kingdom is, you preside over it with such stately elan.

    So freakin jealous of your elan, I am…

  4. November 2, 2006 at 5:35 pm

    Queens can do whatever they want to do! Enjoy yourself! We ALL could use a break from cleaning! ( and reality, for that matter!)

  5. November 2, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    I’ve been the queen of chaos for quite a bit now, and I wish I could say it could continue.

    Sadly, the mess is beginning to bother even ME.

    Dammit.

  6. November 2, 2006 at 10:19 pm

    You took the thoughts out of my head for me and put them into words. Thank you. 🙂

  7. November 3, 2006 at 7:02 am

    I struggle with embracing the chaos. Some days I do better than others.

    All hail the queen!

  8. November 3, 2006 at 7:47 am

    I understand! I feel like I have to clean the windows right now. I CAN”T STOP SOMETIMES! I need to sit and relax. Wait, I AM!!


Leave a Reply

