27
Oct
06

Waking / Sleeping

For me, the thin line between contentment & crankiness is linearly correlated with the thin line between sleeping & not-sleeping.  The past week, my daughters have tag-teamed my hubs and I, insuring that any wisp of REM sleep was interrupted with a call for water, new covers, a story, or anything at all in between.  My youngest, wee V, has been making up for my lost work hours by trying to nurse again at Midnight (ack! ack!)…  The horrors of sleep deprivation had been wiped so cleanly from my brain, I’d forgotten how terribly frail mommy’s world view and sauciness can become. 

It doesn’t help that I had a horrible dream where a smart and adorably gorgeous twenty-something stole my husband from me.  His blithe reply to my dream-state confrontation seemed so real:  "You paid no attention to me, so I had no other option."  I yelled out his name in my sleep and tossed and turned, waking with a terrible sense of dread and anxiety and crankiness — not the clever sassy kind.. the dreary defeated kind.

Bad dreams and interrupted sleep… a deadly combination.

I feel somewhat comforted by the fact that I kicked that hubs-stealer’s bony little ass, pulled her hair, and banished her from my huge Victorian mansion.

This is one of those days I wish so much that one of my fabulously clever email/blog galpals lived nearby so we could grab a drink and talk about shoes…

12 Responses to “Waking / Sleeping”


  1. October 27, 2006 at 11:25 am

    I’ve had no sleep in months! Dreams are crazy eh? Did you tell your husband about your dream?

  2. October 27, 2006 at 12:10 pm

    That’s quite a dream!
    I’m curious too, did you tell your husband about it?

  3. October 27, 2006 at 12:25 pm

    And no, I haven’t had a chance to share my dream with hubs yet, but you can be sure I will…

  4. October 27, 2006 at 3:16 pm

    Ouch! No-sleep sucks! Sorry to hear what you’re going through. Funcitoning on sleep deprivation is bad enough, but when those crazy dreams present themselves that’s cause for losing the foothold on sanity! (especially when it comes to husband stealers!) My dreams are the complete opposite. Mine almost always involve Snoop Dogg or some other stank rapper that I would never in a million years mess around with no matter how delirious I’ve become!

    Good luck!!

  5. October 27, 2006 at 4:08 pm

    Crank, every so often I, too, go toe to toe with sleeplessness and the cruel bitch robs me of my joie de vivre and all that other shit that makes me sound like I’m some sort of hipster/fashionista/size 2 celebrity bitch. Anyway…usually my sleeplessness comes about through some combination of frantic worry, snoring husband and evil Pit Bull/Beagle that has been known to crawl under the sheets at 4 am. And then I’m up…and can’t sleep…and everything is for shit the next day. Woe is me.

    That’s my long way of saying we need to get virtual happy hour going on Fridays from now on, a BlogCrawl (TM) if you will. We could all meet up at a different blog each week, have a cocktail, make comments in a blogcrawl thread on for about an hour, then call it a night.

    Who’s in? (My hand’s up…don’t leave me hanging…)

  6. October 27, 2006 at 4:24 pm

    Lack of sleep is a killer! What cruel twist of fate makes our lovely children grant us precious sleep, only to take it away at a later time! My son still ends up in my daughter’s bed almost every night! (He is three.) Is it wrong that I don’t care, as long as he stays the hell out of mine? HMMMM

  7. 7 MeL
    October 27, 2006 at 6:04 pm

    The lack of sleep is worse than anything. I swear I could live the exact same day over, once with sleep and once without – with sleep, it would be just another day, maybe a good one. Without sleep, the same events feel like the sky is falling and I’m uncertain I will make it to Beer-Thirty. (also known as whatever time hubs walks in the door).

    And yet we feel compelled to use the hours after the wee ones are in bed to “get things done”. At least I do. And so lives on the horrid cycle….

    I don’t get the dreams, though. Which is really too bad, because there are undoubtedly a few evil skanks I have known in my day who I would totally love to give an imaginary beat-down.

    But uh… seeing as how that comment totally makes me sound bitchy, we’ll pretend I’d rather dream about doing geometry homework. Which is what I usually dream amount, and which comprises my own private vision of hell….

    I do find, though, that a good cup of chamomile tea (I know, right? such a cliche..) and a hot bubble bath do wonders as a band-aid for sleep deprivation from time to time….

  8. October 27, 2006 at 6:05 pm

    There must have been something in the air last night b/c my Little H kept me up half the night too. It’s amazing how quickly you forget what those sleep deprived months were like!

    I’m also dying to know if you told your husband. If I told mine about a dream like that, his first response would be to ask if the 20-something was hot!

    Ah, shoes. I would LOVE to come talk about shoes.

  9. 9 Michelle
    October 27, 2006 at 8:17 pm

    Oh YUCK. Sorry hon…I know how nights like that can ruin your mood for the whole day. Sleep deprivation is my #1 fear for impending baby #3.

    Drinks and shoe talk would indeed help. Wish I was there to help you detox!!!

  10. October 28, 2006 at 10:15 am

    Hey, be nice to your hubs or he might run off with some fancy piece :-p

  11. October 29, 2006 at 11:09 am

    That is the biggest thing holding me back from having more kids. Sleep.

    I know that sounds selfish, but my sleep pattern SUCKS and I take it when I can get it. When you throw in little ones in the mix that equates to about NEVER.

  12. 12 karrie
    October 30, 2006 at 6:39 am

    My son is abusing DST here, so I feel for you with regard to fatigue + additional crankiness.

    I’ve had a few dreams of that nature, one so vivid that I woke up slapping him and yelling at him for ‘cheating’.

    Thankfully he was amused. I stayed pissed off the rest of that day though.


Leave a Reply

