23
Oct
06

Blended, Not Broken

I’ve been on a quest to discover tales of blended families on the blogosphere.  Thus far… very little luck.  As has already been discussed, CrankMama loves blended families because it means she’s not the only person with an interesting past AND because some of her favorite people are stepparents.  Of course, blended defined as "nontraditional" can also mean any number of other fascinating arrangements.

So out yourself, baby!  Tell me allll about your unusual family, step-kids, step-parents, step-siblings.. your first, second, third husband… any old thing you like to blend at all… lay it all out for me.  Because we’ve got to bring the truth soup back to the dinner table about what is REALLY going on around here. 

Here’s one you probably already know about.  Check her out!

Suburban Turmoil

And just because you’ve never been divorced or had children out of wedlock or lived in a hippie commune memorizing beer bottles doesn’t mean I don’t love you.  It just means I probably won’t marry you…

6 Responses to “Blended, Not Broken”


  1. October 23, 2006 at 8:48 pm

    I am a step-mom. My husband was married before me and as a result I have two wonderful step-daughters. They are teenagers and live with their mom most of the time. However, the oldest will be coming to live with us in the city when she starts college next year. They both have amazing red hair, which I admit, I tend to be jealous of at times. My daughter thrives on the weekends they are here with us. I love our blended family. I recently found out that my oldest step-daughter told her friends I was a “bad ass” and yes, that made me proud! Because, in teenage lingo, that is one hell of a good thing!
    P.S. My husband and I had to have a shot-gun wedding because this third child fourteen years later was just NOT planned!

  2. October 24, 2006 at 2:16 am

    One would think with my family, life and endless drama that surrounds them all, that I would have some hair raising divorce stories.

    Nope.

    We were too young, we didn’t have nearly enough love and foundation to make it last, he is a great guy and a wonderful father. He is remarried and we all get along very well.

    Is it competely wacked that perhaps the most “Normal” thing in my life is my divorce???

    Dude.

  3. October 24, 2006 at 7:05 am

    You are SOOO not alone. I was a child bride (LOL -19) and divorced my first husband after two years. Turns out he saved up all his latent anger and violence up for after the wedding day. (Fortunately, no kids).

    My current marriage is my second (and my husband’s second). I have two great stepdaughters who are now adults and my husband and I have a daughter who we adopted from China. (Also, if we’re talking blended, my husband and I are of different religions).

    Also, we won’t let anyone call the kids “half-sisters” … they’re sisters, period! It’s a crazy family situation, but it works for us!

  4. October 24, 2006 at 9:41 am

    I’m one of the lucky ones. My family growing up consisted of:
    1. One adopted sister (Dad’s new wife’s daughter)
    2. One half sister (Mom’s with husband #2)
    3. 2 brothers (mom and dad original progeny)
    4. One stepmother
    5. 3 stepfathers

    I say lucky because I got some great lessons in the good, bad and ugly of blended families that I can now apply to my own family experiment.

    Now:

    1. I share 50/50 custody of my son with his father, who I was never married to ( and who is coming over to our house for Thanksgiving dinner).
    2. My husband and I also have a daughter and another on the way.
    3. Kids are full siblings-none of that half-crap
    4. My 25 year old sister also lives with us

    If everyone puts the kids first it works. I think of my sons father as almost an extended part of the family. We do lots of things together that relate to our son (parent teacher conferences, birthday parties, etc.) He and my husband have gone out together for drinks, and just a few weeks ago he invited us over for some fabulous pina coladas. Oh, and he’s offered to take care of our daughter(s) if we ever need it.

    I’m truly proud of what we’ve accomplished as a blended family. It wasn’t always this harmonious, but we’ve worked together to make it work.

  5. October 25, 2006 at 2:17 pm

    Totally and completely boring immediate family. But here’s an interesting “blend” for you. My grandparents divorced when I was 4 and my grandfather remarried about a year later. 15 years after that we discovered the divorce wasn’t quite, um, legal. Does bigamy count as blended?

  6. October 26, 2006 at 6:37 am

    I am married to a Canadian, that’s gotta count as some kind of blend? It’s a first marriage, however, both of us come from very long term (mine: 10 years his: 8 years) previous relationships.

    I never lived in a commune, but spent most of my 20’s living in a series of ‘punk houses’, some of which were listed in a semi-famous national directory for other punks’ travel purposes.


Leave a Reply

