01
Oct
06

Adventures of SuperFriend

Thus commenced Great Hair Repair 2006:   Having found the F-Tubes to call my hairdresser and tell him I didn’t like looking like a Crayola, I went to Salon E. to give this relationship one more try. 

I came in early (I believe in maximizing "mommy’s alone time" by showing up early to all appointments– especially those offering eat, drink, and celebrity magazines) and began leafing through the sorrow & tragedy of  Anna Nicole’s kid’s death.    

I waved warmly to Patrick, the Gay God of Sassy Hair, who was busy finishing with another customer. As I watched him chat with the woman in his chair, it slowly dawned on me. 

I know this woman.

Holy hell! She’s my nasty nemesis from Henland and here I am with this bad red hair looking like an idiot reading through People chomping away on a mint.   

OH GOD!

So I did what any self-actualized girl does — I panicked, hid in the alley, and called SuperFriend to come save me.  Lucky for me, SuperFriend works around the corner from Salon E. and due to her genius at design, owns her own business and had a spare moment to fly over to rescue her girlfriend in distress.

Donning a cheerful smile and sassy gauchos (a clothing choice that sets off fashion alarms when I even *look* at them) SuperFriend very casually found her way over to me (the one with horrid hair madly waving and jumping up and down next to the smelly recycling bin).  When I apologized for interrupting her day, she reassured.  "Don’t worry, I do things like this all the time for my sister." 

Huh?  I have brothers.  They’re good for offers of ninja attacks on bad boyfriends, but not for comforting one in an alleyway where one is hiding from a nasty ex-coworker while sporting crayola red hair.

She watched out until the mean mean lady left the salon.  Patrick immediately called wondering where I’d gone… "Um… Rachael? You were in here a minute ago.  Where did you go?"  Thinking quickly I mumbled something mysterious about the kids, bid adieu to SF, and leaped quickly into the safety of the now-empty salon.

And so he fixed my hair.  It’s still red, just less punk.  I’m more like Strawberry Shortcake all grown up and less like… Ronald.

Many thanks & future candle-lit shrines to SuperFriend, who obviously knows all about girls like me.

8 Responses to “Adventures of SuperFriend”


  1. 1 jen
    October 1, 2006 at 2:28 pm

    too funny…i totally know what you mean, and i’ve wanted to hide under a rock in the past…curious minds want to see the new hair, btw.

  2. October 1, 2006 at 10:43 pm

    Close call, eh? Glad you made a successful gettaway!

    btw, your hair color sounds fabulous. When will you post a pic so we can see you?! (gosh, I sound like an 50-year-old Internet predator…i’m really not, i swear!)

  3. 3 christina_the_wench
    October 2, 2006 at 10:25 am

    Thanks for the visit and I am glad I stopped by. You are hilarious.

    I once went with a punk g/f to a swank downtown mall in Cleveland when she was sporting Ronald McDonald red hair. Little kids pointed and snuggled closer to their moms. Strawberry Shortcake is much better.

  4. October 2, 2006 at 1:03 pm

    Praise be superfriends and the Gay God of sassy hair. Everyone should have at least one of each.

  5. October 2, 2006 at 3:31 pm

    Real friends don’t let friends wear gauchos.

    🙂

  6. October 3, 2006 at 6:29 am

    SuperFriend, the term makes me want to go buy my girls matching cape. Glad your hair crisis has been resolved.

  7. October 3, 2006 at 9:17 am

    The sister thing is right on. I have one, and although we are incredibly different and don’t always agree, either of us would Superfriend the other without blinking.

    There is something to this “sisterhood” stuff afterall.

  8. October 4, 2006 at 8:46 am

    Thank God for Superfriends and Gods of Hair who can fix really bad do’s.

    Strawberry Shortcake all grown-up? Yeah, that’s better than Ronald. 😉 Hope you like it now!

    Annie


Leave a Reply

