18
Sep
06

Hit Me With Your Best Shot

In an ongoing quest to rediscover my body as more than a soft place for little folks to land, I signed up for a thai boxing class last week.  It all started with an innocent looking flier a few months ago slipped inside the local paper.  There she was.  A muscled lean looking woman with her arm outstretched, hands wrapped for a fight, a look of intense concentration and power on her face.  Below her the promise "Lean & Fit in 10 Weeks." 

I started doing the math.  10 weeks.  That’s hardly any time at all.  That’s a bad haircut grown out, or time between bikini waxes when I’m trying to save money.  That’s the time it took me to find out I was pregnant with twins ‘lo those many muscle-ruining moons ago. 

Nevermind that I cannot walk swiftly up stairs without getting winded.  Nevermind that my preferred life stance is one of lounging cynicism and parenting from the couch.  It’s not really about weight (because who has the courage to weigh herself anymore?).  It’s more about that woman in the picture.  She’s well over 30, tough, hot, and intense.

I want to be her.  I want to be lean and fit and ready to fight more than my inner couch potato.

Bring it!

8 Responses to “Hit Me With Your Best Shot”


  1. September 18, 2006 at 9:34 am

    I’ve been taking boxing for nearly 5 years now.

    It’s funny, most of the women in the class want to look like the assistant instructor (40 but looks like 25, lean, big boobs), and the guys just want to learn how to bar fight really well. And check out the assistant instructor.

  2. 2 Michelle
    September 18, 2006 at 12:32 pm

    I’m psyched for you. have you started yet?

  3. September 18, 2006 at 12:56 pm

    Thai boxing. That is so cool. If someone bullies me, I’m definitely calling on you.

  4. 4 SingleMama
    September 18, 2006 at 2:31 pm

    I just started taking Tae Kwon Do with my son. I hurt so bad, but he’s bouncing off the wall. In a few months we can spar each other! 😉

  5. September 18, 2006 at 3:27 pm

    Thai boxing… is that like Pad Thai Veggie and Thai Garlic Curry? Think i’ve heard of it.

  6. September 18, 2006 at 9:13 pm

    Great post. I wanna be her too! I guess that’s why I just joined the gym. But something tells me it’s gonna take longer than 10 weeks to fight back my inner couch potato!

    p.s. I saw that you’re writing at the Imperfect Parent now. Me too! Nice to see a friendly face over there.

  7. September 19, 2006 at 9:11 am

    Oh God, good luck with this. I’ve been working out for a year now and still need to take a nap after every body sculpting class. But look, don’t give in to my negativity. You will be able to prove me wrong when you post a lean picture of yourself in ten weeks time sporting a g-string bikini and a terrific six pack!!!

  8. September 19, 2006 at 10:30 pm

    Yeah!!! I LOVE that song, and Pat Benatar. That is SUCH the kick-ass-Girl anthem! Every time I hear it I totally feel empowered no matter what I happen to be doing, even if it’s just laundry – I just do it with so much more gusto!

    Good luck with the classes, I’ll be rootin’ for ya from the (couch) sidelines!!!!


Leave a Reply

