15
Sep
06

Yay! Men!

Today I woke up early, showered, and curled my hair.  This is a revolution in personal hygiene for someone who of late hasn’t been dressing until 4:30pm. The occasion is an appointment with a former colleague to talk about a possible job opportunity with his company. His company.  He’s a man.  Do you know how exciting this possibly is?  After my last hen hell experience I swore I’d never work in an all-woman organization again unless we were dressed as cowgirls and performing in a vaudeville circus. 

The thing about women in my experience is that many of them are afraid of expressing themselves directly for fear of (being understood? being disliked?)….  Meow meow.  I’d rather be hit by a plate in the head than whispered about behind my back.  And as the leader of this all-woman organization, the problem was compounded by the issue of supervising women 2 decades my senior.  I’ll leave the rest to your active imaginations, but you get the picture.

I love women.  Some of my best friends are women.  Truly.  I just don’t want to work with them.  They make me talk about feelings.  They tell me about their toe surgery and uncaring husbands.  They ask me if I think they’ve gained weight and cry in my office.

Give me the linear freedom of rational discourse on strategy and spreadsheets and budgets.  Give me something clean and clear and understandable.  Give me work with men! 

6 Responses to “Yay! Men!”


  1. September 15, 2006 at 12:13 pm

    I so agree with you! That’s exactly why I work in a field of law that is completely dominated by men. When someone asks how I *feel* about something, I want to slit my wrists.

  2. September 15, 2006 at 3:34 pm

    I work in construction for a reason.

    I learned my lesson getting my master’s in women studies.

    You know what I’m saying?

  3. September 15, 2006 at 9:05 pm

    Heh. Three-year sentence to hard labour as PTA President. Try THAT on for emotional, backstabbing, whiny women.

    In a lot of ways it sucked a duck. I didn’t even get paid.

  4. September 15, 2006 at 11:41 pm

    You sound like my wife. She had a woman boss for years and would vent every night about it

  5. 5 zippy
    September 17, 2006 at 10:12 am

    Oh honey, do I ever understand. I finally ditched other women and ended up as a medical staff office manager with 429 medical doctors (98% men) Halleluiah!!!! Testosterone-rich and loving it.

  6. September 17, 2006 at 10:28 pm

    Ya know? I have to agree with this. What IS IT with working with other women?!!! It’s distracting and totally makes me feel like I’m lacking as a woman if I don’t contribute to the ‘small talk’ when I’d really just like to get my work done. (sigh) This is something I don’t look forward to once I go back to work in another year or so…


Leave a Reply

