13
Sep
06

My Friend Miranda

My Mom is a very helpful nice Mormon lady who only swears when her husband is not around.  Like many LDS women, she’s pretty sure moms should stay home with their kids full-time rather than work.  I say "pretty sure" because she was, at the time of my raising, a career woman.  Perhaps it’s regret from years past.  Perhaps she knows something I don’t.

In any event, she likes to tell me stories of women who stay home (usually they’re former career women) and find a way to make it work.  What she doesn’t realize is that she tells me the same stories of smart women who learn to be happy staying home with their kids at least every 3 – 6 months.  The following is her favorite and it was received this morning as I stumbled around making coffee and toast and cleaning up the disgusting kitchen:

My Friend Miranda

Welcome to my world.

15 Responses to “My Friend Miranda”


  1. 1 SingleMama
    September 12, 2006 at 7:21 am

    THE MALL????? That’s horrible. But at least you know you’re loved.

  2. 2 Michelle
    September 12, 2006 at 7:31 am

    This made me LAUGH. Get those kids bundled up and get thee to the mall!

    It’s sweet of her though, and lord knows getting out of the house isn’t a bad thing. (Especially if you can DROP the kiddies off for a couple of hours and head over to the spa!!!) THAT’S quality “stay at home” time!

  3. September 12, 2006 at 9:05 am

    I definitely *do* feel loved. She’s got a heart of gold.

  4. September 12, 2006 at 12:01 pm

    I think trying to take five children to the mall at any age would make me want to put a fork through my eyeball.

    I have a very nice, helpful set of Mormon parents that also love me and therfore tell me to do everything they didn’t as I was being raised. At least it wasn’t a message about how they are convinced their demon-possessed dog has an eating disorder “Fueled by boredom”.

    Do you have any of that coffee left over? I feel an accute headache coming on…

  5. September 12, 2006 at 2:34 pm

    Don’t we all have eating disorders fueled by boredom? LL I had no idea we both had Mormon peeps in our fam. Aren’t we lucky? I’ll send good coffee vibes your way and you are now an official “CrankMama”… 🙂

  6. September 12, 2006 at 5:04 pm

    I love that we all have semi-crazy, yet loveable mothers.

  7. September 12, 2006 at 10:09 pm

    Awww, I’m so sorry – your mom and mine must be neighbors who visit each other every morning (before calling us) to discuss ways in which to (torture) enlighten us with ideas of how to better deal with our stay-at-home situations… gotta love ’em, right? Right? Hm.

  8. September 12, 2006 at 11:51 pm

    what a great idea, so funny, so can relate

  9. September 13, 2006 at 12:08 am

    Ha, ha, ha! Yup. It’s true. A born and bread Mormon.

    In a very LONG “OFF” with it, but who knows? I try to never say never to anything.

    I’m just fine as I am for now though (And who knew coffee could be so damn good???!!!)

    Thanks for the “Offical Status”. I feel like breaking out into a refrain of “I Feel Pretty” now…

    🙂

  10. September 13, 2006 at 6:59 am

    I think I was able to do the corporate move thing because I had such a rooted life. I think my children will do the opposite and NOT move.

    I understand your mother’s understanding of one side and support for the other… The grass is always greener –a real truism…

  11. September 13, 2006 at 10:00 am

    Hey, Great idea mom…
    WI’ll just pack up the kids EVERYDAY and go on a trip to your house…

  12. September 13, 2006 at 11:03 am

    I LOVE your blog! While reading your posts I found myself wishing we could go shoe shopping together and make snarky comments about our moms.

    I’ll definitely be back to read more. And thanks for visiting my blog!

  13. September 13, 2006 at 4:21 pm

    everyday?

    EVERYDAY???

    Does she want you to consume a bottle of vodka everyday? Because I would imagine that you’d have to. I’d have to.

  14. September 13, 2006 at 4:56 pm

    I love that woman! Your mom rocks!! I would so love to have coffee with her, except that whole caffeine thing might get in the way.

  15. September 13, 2006 at 5:13 pm

    Gah! I can’t hear it. I hate my screwed up laptop! I want to hear your cool mama talk.

    Another time, perhaps.


Leave a Reply

