30
Aug
06

Not Spiritually Evolved

I have an absolutely wonderful college friend named Donnella.  When she visits, she smiles, she hums about and cooks magnificent healthy food, she wonders about deep and meaningful things and practices pilates on my living room floor.  She listens in that I see inside your soul intense way that makes you feel like saying generous hopeful things like "I’m sure we’ll eventually find peace in the Middle East."

But at times like this when I haven’t seen her in awhile and the darkside appears to so obviously be winning, I’m hard pressed to find my inner Donnella.  Since I neither practice pilates nor make magnificent nonfat veggie burritos, I’m left  with the consolation of my imaginary friend.   

Funny Girl isn’t deep or meaningful or particularly sensitive, but what she offers ain’t bad:

  • An ability to focus on pretty pink shoes,
  • A willingness to sit and talk over wine about haircuts, boyfriends, husbands, and listen intently to how hard it is to find a dress for a 20 year high school reunion,
  • An overweaning fascination with which earrings likely accentuate the length of one’s neck,
  • A buddy with whom to watch exercise videos and guess the ages & weights of participants,
  • A clever conversationalist with whom one can discuss books that are well written and *not* currently on the Oprah Book List.

Most of all, she’s someone with whom one can be onesself, spiritually unevolved, spitting mad, or laughing uproariously at the absurdity of the world. 

You can borrow her if you like.

6 Responses to “Not Spiritually Evolved”


  1. August 30, 2006 at 11:47 am

    Can I borrow her for those occasions when we go to family get-togethers.

    Sharp objects need to be removed from the room when they all get together.

  2. August 30, 2006 at 11:51 am

    You surely can… though she’s even better if you ply her with alcohol first.

  3. August 30, 2006 at 12:06 pm

    I’m still thinking about nonfat veggie burritos! I CAN’t WAIT TO eAT THOSE again.

    Sounds like a great pal.

  4. September 1, 2006 at 9:15 am

    I love Funny Girl! I think she’s more my speed.

  5. September 1, 2006 at 10:21 am

    Mine too, Rick. Pilates is overrated anyway.

  6. September 2, 2006 at 1:50 pm

    Funny girl sounds like she has a pretty damn good list…and real. That’s the best part of all.


Leave a Reply

