21
Aug
06

And Then They Make You Laugh…

My $13 haircut and $20 pedicure from yesterday’s solo day out have Mommy more or less back in form… cheerful (for a cranky bugger) and content on a Monday morning.  Or at least approaching cheerful when from the next room, I hear:
"Mr. Duck is heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeere!!" followed by "THIS time, DON’T call me Dude!"

Then I laugh out loud and the girls, startled, look at me like I’ve sprung 3 heads (or laughed).  And their big grins remind me of one of my most important Mommy Rules –teach the girls that they’re delightful and funny and likeable.  I can accomplish this by uttering a big honest guffaw at their weirdness once in awhile. 

I remember how much fun I had as a kid when I made my parents laugh…  Even now when my folks tell me long stories about their hangnails and sciatica and wasp problems, if I can make them laugh I feel successful and warm inside.

So tip over the seratonin bucket, Mommy’s got her laugh on!

4 Responses to “And Then They Make You Laugh…”


  1. 1 A Dad's Perspective
    August 21, 2006 at 10:39 am

    Reminds me of the scene in Uncle Buck when he confronts the principal. Why must we try so hard to remove all the weird from them?

    ‘Course, I suspect their mom is a bit unique too. (grin)

    A.D.P.

  2. 2 SingleMama
    August 22, 2006 at 5:59 am

    One of my favorite parts of being a mom is the opportunity it provides to utter otherwise surreal statements. Non-parents will not get to say “Honey sometimes strangers don’t want to be hit with snakes” and after a certain point in time the phrase “Where are your pants?” will fall out of use for them. Poor folks, they have no idea what they’re missing.

  3. 3 Crankmama
    August 22, 2006 at 7:58 am

    Surreal statements are most definitely one of the best reasons to be a parent. That and the karmic satisfaction of finally being able to utter the old standby “because I said so.”

  4. 4 SingleMama
    August 22, 2006 at 11:14 am

    I put my own spin on that one, and go with “because I’m just mean!” So far my son has always responded by giggling and telling me that I’m not mean. I know that won’t last long


Leave a Reply

