11
Aug
06

Stay At Home, Mama

I?ve heard many women take issue with the label ?stay at home mom? because when one is a SAHM, one rarely does stay at home. In
fact, you are much more likely to taxi kids to classes, take part in
the mysteriously popular ?mommy & me? classes ? my idea of a great
class would be called ?daddy & me? ? than your working for pay
sisters of capitalism. See what you think of my new little jingle.

 

 Go to your classes of knitting and art
Follow the crowds to the small sunny park
Pack up the kids with the cooler and wipes
Wave ?hi? on the field as your waiting child snipes
I?ll be at home while my darling kids play
Not a carseat to buckle, nor a fit to delay

 

 Or something like that. I
love staying home when I?m off work? the kids and I all stay in our
PJ?s until odd hours, play easily with what?s here, and even have time
for rest and daydreaming. It?s the only way to go. Every time I start to feel guilty and organize an edifying outing of some sort, I almost always regret it by the 3rd potty trip, or fit, or fight, or fall. And
while my rebel self enjoys the scene caused by twins and a young baby
having a simultaneous crying jag, MM (mean mommy) surfaces, using
an irritable voice and pledging warnings? nothing terrible just lots of
backward car yelling ?if you kids don?t quit, you?ll get a TIME OUT
WHEN WE GET HOME
? and that sort of thing, which is murder on the back,
don?t you know. Whereas, if I stay home, where all the
outlets are covered, stairs gated, furniture soft, and sandwich fixin?s
fresh and inexpensive, a fun time might just happen after all.

So I propose a new label for gals like me: No Place Like Home Moms (or NPLHM) or Nice Peeps Lounge for Hours, Mary?

0 Responses to “Stay At Home, Mama”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

